Two American Women Scholars to Receive Lautenschlaeger Awards

hd-logo-sw-smallThe Manfred Lautenschlaeger Award for Theological Promise is awarded to 10 scholars from around the world each year. The awards, selected by a team of 23 judges from 19 countries, are given for outstanding scholarship on God or spirituality in a doctoral dissertation or for a scholar’s first postdoctoral work. The 10 winners will honored this coming May at ceremonies at the University of Heidelberg in Germany. Each winner receives 3,000 euros.

Three of this year’s 10 winners are women. Two of the three women are Americans.

alison.josephAlison L. Joseph is a visiting assistant professor of ancient Judaism at Towson University in Maryland. She has previously taught at Villanova University, Haverford College, the Jewish Theological Seminary, and Ursinus College. She is being honored for her book Portrait of the Kings: The Davidic Prototype in Deuteronomistic Poetics (Fortress Press, 2015). Dr. Joseph holds a Ph.D. in Hebrew Bible and Jewish studies from the University of California, Berkeley.

Brittany E. Wilson is an assistant professor of the New Testament at Duke Divinity School in Durham, North Carolina. Dr. Wilson is being honored with a Lautenschlaeger Award for her book Unmanly Men: Refigurations of Masculinity in Luke-Acts (Oxford University Press, 2015). Dr. Wilson is a graduate of the University of Texas at Austin. She holds a master’s degree from Duke Divinity School and a Ph.D. from the Princeton Theological Seminary in New Jersey.

Filed Under: AwardsBooks


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply