Six Women Presented With Major Awards

Shontavia Johnson, associate professor of intellectual property law at Drake University Law School in Des Moines, Iowa, received the 2014 Ladas Memorial Award from the International Trademark Association. The award stems from a yearly competition that honors the best original papers in the world on the subject of trademark law. Professor Johnson won in the professional category for her paper entitled “Trademark Territoriality in Cyberspace: An Internet Framework.”

Professor Johnson is a graduate of Clemson University in South Carolina, where she majored in biosystems engineering. She earned a juris doctorate at the University of Arkansas School of Law.

Berry, Mary FrancesMary Frances Berry, the Geraldine R. Segal Professor of American Social Thought and professor of history at the University of Pennsylvania, received the 2014 Roy Rosenzweig Distinguished Service Award from the Organization of American Historians. The award honors scholars who have “significantly enriched our understanding and appreciation of American history.”

Professor Berry has been on the faculty at Penn since 1987. She is the author or co-author of 10 books including her latest work, Power in Words: The Stories Behind Barack Obama’s Speeches, from the State House to the White House (Beacon Press, 2010). Dr. Berry earned a law degree and a Ph.D. in history at the University of Michigan.

Alison Van EenennaamAlison L. Van Eenennaam, a geneticist and cooperative extension specialist in animal genetics and biotechnology at the University of California at Davis, has been chosen to receive the 2014 Borlaug CAST Communication Award from the Council for Agricultural Science and Technology. She will receive the award in October at the World Food Prize Symposium in Iowa.

Dr. Van Eenennaam is a graduate of the University of Melbourne in Australia. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in genetics from the University of California at Davis.

brenneckeJoan F. Brennecke, the Keating-Crawford Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Notre Dame, received the 2014 E.V. Murphree Award in Industrial and Engineering Chemistry from the American Chemical Society. The award is sponsored by the ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company.

Professor Brennecke is a graduate of the University of Texas. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from the University of Illinois.

reinhartDebra Reinhart, Pegasus Professor and assistant vice president for research and commercialization at the University of Central Florida in Orlando, received the 2014 Stanley E. Kappe Award from the American Academy of Environmental Engineers and Scientists. Dr. Reinhart is the former environmental program manager at the National Science Foundation.

Professor Reinhart holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in environmental engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology.

monsonJennifer Monson, a professor of dance at the University of Illinois, has received the Doris Duke Impact Award. The award comes with a cash grant of $60,000. Professor Monson is a choreographer and performer who specializes in experimental dance.

Professor Monson is a graduate of Sarah Lawrence College in Bronxville, New York.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply