Nine Women Named to Faculty Posts

Charlotte Owens was appointed to the OB/GYN faculty at the Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta. She will also serve as director of the Division of Industry Collaborative Research and chief medical officer for the Office of Translational Technologies. She was the lead consultant for the healthcare sector at Booz Allen in Atlanta.

Dr. Owens is a graduate of the University of California at Davis and the University of Michigan Medical School.

Diane Wink was named to the Hugh F. and Jeannette G. McKean Endowed Chair in Nursing at the University of Central Florida. She is a professor of nursing and coordinator of the master’s degree in nursing program at the university. Dr. Wink has been on the nursing faculty since 1987 and was awarded tenure in 1995.

Dr. Wink is a graduate of Adelphi University in Garden City, New York. She holds master’s degrees from Rollins College and Villanova University, as well as an educational doctorate from the University of Central Florida.

Deborah Welsh was named chair of the department of psychology at the University of Tennessee’s flagship campus in Knoxville. She has been serving as associate chair and director of the graduate program in clinical psychology.

Dr. Welsh joined the University of Tennessee faculty in 1993. She holds a Ph.D. in clinical psychology from the University of Massachusetts.

Gbemende Johnson was appointed assistant professor of government at Hamilton College in Clinton, New York. She recently received a research grant to study state supreme court deference to executive power.

Dr. Johnson holds master’s and Ph.D. degrees in political science from Vanderbilt University.

Sarah Miller was appointed an assistant professor of economics at the University of Notre Dame. She will not take her new post until January 2014. She is currently a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Scholar in Health Policy Research at the University of Michigan.

Dr. Miller received her Ph.D. in economics from the University of Illinois.

Victoria J. Fraser was named chair of the department of medicine at the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. She has been interim chair since August 2010. She is the J. William Campbell Professor of Medicine and co-director of the division of infectious diseases.

Dr. Fraser joined the faculty at Washington University in 1991. She earned her medical degree at the University of Missouri in Columbia.

Nancy Kawalek was named professor and distinguished fellow in the arts, sciences, and technology at the Institute for Molecular Engineering at the University of Chicago. The appointment is effective in 2013. She is a studio professor in film and media studies at the University of California at Santa Barbara.

Kawalek, a graduate of Northwestern University, will participate in activities at the University of Chicago fostering collaborations between the arts and the sciences.

Rizia Bardhan was appointed assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering at Vanderbilt University. She recently completed work as a postdoctoral fellow at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in California.

Dr. Bardhan earned a Ph.D. in chemistry at Rice University in Houston.

Carol Reed was named an instructor of mathematics at the Worthington campus of Pennsylvania State University in Scranton. She was teaching at Lehigh Carbon Community College in Schnecksville, Pennsylvania.

Reed is a graduate of Albright College in Reading, Pennsylvania, and earned a master’s degree in mathematics at Lehigh University in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply