The National Science Foundation Honors Three Early-Career Women Scientists

The National Science Foundation has honored Katrina G. Claw, Rebecca Kramer-Bottiglio, and Muyinatu A. Lediju Bell with the Alan T. Waterman Award. The national award honors early-career scientists and engineers for their outstanding leadership and research accomplishments. Over the next five years, the three recipients will each receive $1 million to support their research .

Katrina Claw is an assistant professor of biomedial informatics at the University of Colorado School of Medicine. Her research centers on personalizing medicine by using genetic information and biomarkers for tailored treatment. Dr. Claw also studies the ethical, cultural, and social implications of genomic research in historically underrepresented populations.

Dr. Claw received dual bachelor’s degrees from Arizona State University in biology and anthropology. She holds a Ph.D. in genomic sciences from the University of Washington.

Rebecca Kramer-Bottiglio is the John J. Lee Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science at Yale University. As a scholar, she studies soft robotics, stretchable electronics, responsive material actuators, soft material manufacturing, and soft-bodied control.

Dr. Kramer-Bottiglio is a graduate of Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore where she majored in mechanical engineering. She holds a master’s degree in mechanical engineering from the University of California, Berkeley and a Ph.D. in engineering sciences from Harvard University.

Muyinatu A. Lediju Bell is the John C. Malone Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, and Computer Science at Johns Hopkins University. As an interdisciplinary academic, her research focuses on engineering and deploying innovative biomedical imaging systems.

Dr. Bell is a graduate of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology where she majored in mechanical engineering with a minor in biomedical engineering. She earned her Ph.D. in biomedical engineering from Duke University in North Carolina.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply