Rosalie Otero Recognized for a Lifetime of Work Advancing Honors Education

Rosalie Otero, professor emerita and former director of the Honors Program at the University of New Mexico, recently was presented with the 2023 Founders Award from the National Collegiate Honors Council at its annual conference in Chicago. The NCHC Founders Award was created in 2015 and is the most prestigious award bestowed by the council. The Founders Award serves to honor members who have been instrumental in the development and advancement of NCHC and its programs.

“Rosalie Otero was a force of nature, constantly advocating for our students, keeping our curriculum fresh, and our programs constantly evolving and improving to meet our students’ needs,” said Leslie Donovan, professor, and interim dean of the University of New Mexico Honors College.

“The Honors College at UNM provides opportunities for intensive, interactive, interdisciplinary, and cross-cultural education that broaden student’s entire educational experience from all majors across campus. The College offers the advantages of a small college with the opportunities of a large research university. It fosters a community of academic excellence, connects students with premier faculty, and promotes civic engagement and leadership opportunities,” said Professor Otero.

“It has been my privilege and joy to have been involved in honors education for over 30 years.” Dr. Otero added. “It has given me the opportunity to work with exceptional students, remarkable and talented colleagues, both in my own institution, across the country and internationally. I treasure the many friendships I have made over the years and am proud and delighted with the achievements of our alumni and gratified that I had a small role in their many accomplishments.”

Dr. Otero held the position of chair of the Gender and Ethnicities Committee at the NCHC for seven years and later served as president. She is the co-editor of Santa Fe Nativa: A Collection of Nuevomexicano Writing (University of New Mexico Press, 2009).

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply