Martha Finnemore Honored by the Johan Skytte Foundation at Uppsala University in Sweden

Martha Finnemore, University Professor of Political Science and International Affairs at George Washington University in Washington, D.C., was awarded the Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science from the Johan Skytte Foundation at Uppsala University in Sweden. The award is often referred to as the “Nobel Prize of Political Science.”

Since 1995, the Skytte Prize has been awarded annually to scholars who have made outstanding and groundbreaking contributions to the understanding of political science and its relevance in the world today. The prize includes a cash award of about $46,000 and a silver medal.

A world-renowned expert on global governance, international organizations, cybersecurity, and constructivist social theory, Professor Finnemore was cited for “her influential scholarship and empirical research.” The prize committee of international scholars praised Dr. Finnemore for academic achievements that have “significantly contributed to advancing constructivism in the study of international organizations and their impact on global governance.” The award citation noted, “Her work has highlighted the crucial role of norms and ideas in shaping state behavior within international institutions.”

Professor Finnemore, who received the award along with Ohio State University political science professor Alexander Wendt, thanked the foundation for recognizing her scholarship. “Receiving the Johan Skytte prize is a great honor. It recognizes not just me and Alex Wendt but also the now-extensive group of scholars researching the sociological features of global politics,” she said.

Professor Finnemore is the author or co-author of several books including Rules for the World: International Organizations in Global Politics (Cornell University Press, 2004), which won the International Studies Association’s award for Best Book in 2006.

Dr. Finnemore is a graduate of Harvard University, where she majored in government. She holds a master’s degree in government from the University of Sydney in Australia and a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in political science from Stanford University.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply