Marie Chisholm-Burns Receives Two Awards From Pharmacy Associations

Marie Chisholm-Burns, dean of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center’s College of Pharmacy, has received the 2022 American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists Outstanding Dean Award. The award recognizes college of pharmacy deans who have worked to advance the welfare of student pharmacists through community service, leadership, and professional activities.

Dr. Chisholm-Burns also received the American Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists Board of Directors Distinguished Leadership Award. This award recognizes outstanding individuals who have made significant contributions to advance pharmacy practice.

For the past 10 years, Dr. Chisholm-Burns has been dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center. She was the first African-American to hold the position in the college’s history. Earlier in her career, she was a professor and chair of the department of pharmacy practice and science at the University of Arizona. Before joining the faculty at the University of Arizona, she taught at the Georgia Health Sciences University in Augusta and at the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy.

Professor Chisholm-Burns holds bachelor’s and doctoral degrees from the University of Georgia. She earned a master of public health degree at Emory University in Atlanta.

Filed Under: Awards

RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply