Four Women Faculty Members Who Are Taking on New Duties

Tarina Kang, a clinical associate professor of emergency medicine at the Keck School of Medicine of the Univerity of Southern California, has been named chief medical officer for the USC Verdugo Hills Hospital located in Glendale, California. She has been serving as medical director of quality for Keck Medical Center of USC and medical director for evaluation and treatment.

Dr. Kang holds a master of health administration degree from the Sol Price School of Public Policy at the University of Southern California. She earned her medical degree at George Washington University.

Cynthia Osborne will join the faculty of the department of leadership, policy, and organizations at Peabody College of Vanderbilt University in Nashville. She was associate dean for academic strategies at the LBJ School of Public Affairs at the University of Texas at Austin.

Dr. Osborne is a graduate of Claremont McKenna College in California. She holds master’s degrees from Claremont Graduate University and Harvard University and a Ph.D. in demography and public affairs from Princeton University in New Jersey.

Airea D. Matthews, co-director of the creative writing program and an assistant professor at Bryn Mawr College in Pennsylvania, was named poet laureate of the city of Philadelphia. Her first collection of poems Simulacra (Yale University Press, 2017) received the 2016 Yale Series of Younger Poets Award.

Matthews is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, where she majored in economics. She holds a master’s degree from the University of Michigan’s Ford School of Public Policy and a master of fine arts degree from the Helen Zell Writers’ Program at the University of Michigan.

Teresa Seefeldt, an associate dean and an associate professor in the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences at South Dakota State University, has been given the added duties of vice provost for undergraduate education at the university.

Dr. Seefeldt holds a bachelor’s degree in pharmaceutical sciences, a pharmacy doctorate, and a Ph.D. in pharmaceutical sciences, all from South Dakota State University.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply