Two State University Presidents Announce That They Will Retire Later This Year

Deborah F. Stanley, president of the State University of New York Oswego, announced that she will retire at the end of the year. She has led the university for 26 years and been on the staff for 44 years.

“It is beyond a blessing to have been allowed to contribute leadership to, and collaborate broadly on, the inspirations and initiatives that have lifted our work and produced amazing outcomes for our college, our students, and our communities,” President Stanley said.

President Stanley earned a bachelor’s degree and a juris doctorate at Syracuse University in New York.

Elaine C. Collins, president of Northern Vermont University, has announced that she will step down in August. She has served as Northern Vermont University President since the college’s founding in 2018. Prior to that, she served as president of Johnson State College, one of the two institutions that unified to create Northern Vermont University. Earlier in her career, Dr. Collins served as dean and chief operating officer of the College of Education at Grand Valley State University in Allendale, Michigan.

President Collins is a graduate of the University of California, Los Angeles, where she majored in music. She holds a master’s degree in curriculum and instruction from the University of California, Davis and a Ph.D. in educational leadership and policy from Ohio State University.

Filed Under: Uncategorized


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply