New Legislation Creates the Nation’s First Woman-Focused University System

Texas Governor Greg Abbott has signed into law legislation that establishes the three campuses of Texas Woman’s University as the state’s seventh university system. The legislation paves the way for the newly created Texas Woman’s University System to enhance operations, expand programming, accelerate community and corporate partnerships, increase philanthropy and have a greater impact on the state’s workforce.

The legislation will allow for the Denton-based university system to bolster operations at its Dallas and Houston campuses, a multi-year process that ultimately could establish those campuses as stand-alone universities that better address student and community needs. Additionally, the law reinforces the university’s standing as the largest woman-focused institution in the country.

“The mission of Texas Woman’s remains the same – we are still about transforming lives, cultivating leaders, and inspiring excellence in an inclusive, diverse environment – but now we have a better platform from which to achieve that,” said TWU Chancellor Carine M. Feyten, whose role as chancellor and president will remain in place under the system structure. “This elevates Texas Woman’s stature as a university committed to producing women leaders in business, health, education, science, the arts, and public service.”


Filed Under: NewsWomen's Colleges


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply