New Faculty Assignments, Duties, or Ranks for Seven Women Scholars in Academia

Tracey Osbourne, Management of Complex Systems Professor and University of California Presidential Chair at the University of California, Merced, has been appointed director of the Center for Climate Justice. The center is a system-wide initiative at the University of California to address climate change as a social justice and equity issue.

Dr. Osbourne is a graduate of Wesleyan University in Middletown, Connecticut. She holds a master’s degree from the University of Florida and a Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley.

Julie Goodspeed-Chadwick was named Chancellor’s Professor at Indiana University Purdue University Columbus. She is the first faculty member at the Columbus campus to be named a Chancellor’s Professor. Dr. Goodspeed-Chadwick, who has been teaching at IUPUC since 2008, specializes in 20th-century American literature, transatlantic modernism, women and literature, women’s and gender studies, and trauma studies.

Professor Goodspeed-Chadwick is a graduate of Marian College in Indiana, where she double majored in communication and English. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in English from Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana.

Tammy Kernodle, professor of musicology, has been awarded the title of University Distinguished Professor by the board of trustees of Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, effective July 1. Dr. Kernodle is the author of the biography Soul on Soul: The Life and Music of Mary Lou Williams (Univerity of Illinois Press, 2020). She is currently the president of the Society for American Music.

Dr. Kernodle graduated with a bachelor’s degree in choral music education and piano from Virginia State University. She received a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in music history from Ohio State University.

Jane Lipson was named associate dean for the sciences at Dartmouth College in Hanover, New Hampshire. She will oversee six academic departments, including biological sciences, chemistry, computer science, earth sciences, mathematics, and physics and astronomy; as well as the Neukom Institute for Computational Science. Dr. Lipson is the Albert W. Smith Professor of Chemistry at Dartmouth.

Professor Lipson holds a bachelor’s degree, a master’s degree. and a Ph.D. from the University of Toronto.

Renata Forste was appointed international vice president at Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah, effective August 1. A professor of sociology, Dr. Forste is currently the associate international vice president and director of the David M. Kennedy Center for International Studies at the university. Professor Forste taught for three years at Western Washington University before joining the faculty at BYU in 1995.

Dr. Forste received bachelor’s and master’s degrees in sociology from Brigham Young University and a Ph.D. in sociology from the University of Chicago.

Maria Markakis Zestos, professor of anesthesiology, has been appointed chair of the department of anesthesiology of the School of Medicine at Wayne State University in Detroit. Dr. Zestos also serves as chief of anesthesiology at the Detroit Medical Center’s Children’s Hospital of Michigan.

A member of the faculty since 1997, Dr. Zestos is a graduate of Bryn Mawr College in Pennsylvania. She earned her medical degree from the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in 1987.

Andrea Herstowski, associate professor of design at the University of Kansas, has been named interim associate dean of administration for the School of Architecture & Design. Dr. Herstowski joined the faculty at the university as an assistant professor in 2002 and was promoted to associate professor in 2008.

Herstowski earned a bachelor of fine arts degree from the Univerity of Kansas. She received a master of fine arts degree from the Schule für Gestaltung in Basel, Switzerland.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply