A Trio of Women Who Have Been Appointed to Endowed Chairs

Nancy Burke was named to a John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation Chair at the University of California, Merced. Dr. Burke, a medical anthropologist, is a professor of public health and chair of the public health department. She is also an affiliated faculty member of the department of anthropology, history and social medicine at the University of California, San Francisco.

Professor Burke is a graduate of the University of Tennessee, where she majored in English literature. She holds a master’s degree from the University of Oregon and a Ph.D. in anthropology from the Univerity of New Mexico.

Anna Mueller has been named the Luther Dana Waterman Professor at Indiana University in Bloomington. She joined the sociology faculty at the university in 2019. Her research focuses on youth suicide and the impact it has on schools and communities.

Dr. Muellar is a graduate of Wellesley College in Massachusetts, where she majored in economics and women’s studies. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in sociology from the Univerity of Texas at Austin.

Jennifer Hevelone-Harper is the inaugural holder of the Loring-Phillips Endowed Professorship in History at Gordon College in Wenham, Massachusetts. Her research is focused on Christian spirituality in late antiquity and the Middle Ages and the development of Christian thought.

Professor Hevelone-Harper is a graduate of Gordon College. She earned a master’s degree at the University of Chicago and a second master’s degree and a Ph.D. at Princeton Univerity in New Jersey.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply