Three Women Appointed to Endowed Professorships at Major Universities

Sally Walker has been selected as the first Shellebarger Professor in Geology in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences at the Univerity of Georgia. A professor of geology with a co-appointment in marine sciences, Dr. Walker is principal investigator on a National Science Foundation grant for collaborative research on the Antarctic scallop as a key to paleoenvironments and sea ice conditions. She joined the faculty at the Univerity of Georgia in 1993.

Dr. Walker is a graduate of the University of California, Santa Cruz, where she majored in biology. She holds a Ph.D. in paleontology from the University of California, Berkeley.

Becky Barlow was named the Harry E. Murphy Professor of Forest Measurements and Management in the School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences at Auburn University in Alabama. Professor Barlow is an expert in the areas of forest measurements and management, agroforestry, and small-woodlot management. Dr. Barlow has taught at Auburn University for 13 years.

Professor Barlow holds a bachelor’s degree in landscape architecture, a master’s degree in forestry, and a Ph.D. in forest management, all from Mississippi State University.

Carole Boyce Davies was named the Frank H.T. Rhodes Professor of Humane Letters and professor in Africana studies at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York. She is the former Herskovits Professor of African Studies and professor of comparative literary studies and African American studies at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois. She is the author of Black Women, Writing and Identity: Migrations of the Subject (Routledge, 1994) and Left of Karl Marx: The Political Life of Black Communist Claudia Jones (Duke University Press, 2008).

Born in Trinidad and Tobago, Professor Boyce Davies earned a bachelor’s degree in English at the University of Maryland Eastern Shore. She holds a master’s degree in Africana studies from Howard University in Washington, D.C., and a Ph.D. in African literature from the University of Ibadan in Nigeria.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply