Two Women Philosophers Share the Lebowitz Prize for Philosophical Achievement and Contribution

Agnes Callard, an associate professor of philosophy at the University of Chicago and Laurie Paul, professor of philosophy and cognitive science at Yale University, will share the Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize for Philosophical Achievement and Contribution from the American Philosophical Association.

Each year, the award is presented to a pair of philosophers who hold contrasting views of an important philosophical question “that is of current interest both to the field and to an educated public audience.” Dr. Callard and Dr. Paul will present their arguments at a January 2021 event in New York City on the topic “Personal Transformation and Practical Reason.”

Dr. Callard joined the faculty at the University of Chicago in 2008. She is the author of Aspiration: The Agency of Becoming (Oxford University Press, 2018). Dr. Callard is a graduate of the University of Chicago and holds a master’s degree in classics and a Ph.D. in philosophy from the University of California, Berkeley.

Dr. Paul, who reviewed Dr. Callard’s book when it was published in 2018, is the author of Transformative Experiences (Oxford University Press, 2014). Before coming to Yale, she held the position of the Eugene Falk Distinguished Professor of Philosophy at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Dr. Paul received her Ph.D. from Princeton University in 1999.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply