Five Women Scholars Appointed to Endowed Professorships at Major Universities

Sarah Abrevaya Stein has been named the inaugural holder of the Viterbi Family Endowed Chair in Mediterranean Jewish Studies in the divisions of humanities and social sciences at the University of California, Los Angeles. She is a professor of history and the director of the Alan D. Leve Center for Jewish Studies at UCLA. Professor Stein is the author of several books including Family Papers: A Sephardic Journey Through the Twentieth Century (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2019).

Professor Stein is a graduate of Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from Stanford University.

Pamela Hull was appointed to the William Stamps Farish Endowed Chair in Cancer Research at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine. She will also serve as associate director of population science and community impact at the university’s Markey Cancer Center. Dr. Hull was an associate professor in the Division of Epidemiology at the School of Medicine at Vanderbilt University in Nashville.

Dr. Hull is a graduate of Duke University in Durham, North Carolina, where she majored in sociology. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in sociology from Vanderbilt University.

Wendy Cadge, a professor of sociology and women’s gender and sexuality studies at Brandeis University in Waltham, Massachusetts, has been named to a Barbara Mandel Professorship of Humanities and Humanistic Social Sciences at the university. Professor Cadge is head of the social science division and senior associate dean for strategic initiatives in the School of Arts and Sciences as well as a former chair of women’s, gender, and sexuality studies. She is the author of Paging God: Religion in the Halls of Medicine (University of Chicago Press, 2013).

Dr. Cadge holds a bachelor’s degree from Swarthmore College in Pennsylvania, where she majored in religion, sociology, and anthropology. She earned a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in sociology from Princeton University.

Brooke E. Blevins, associate professor of social studies education and chair of the department of curriculum and instruction in the School of Education at Baylor University in Waco, Texas, has been named to the Conwell G. Strickland Endowed Chair in Education. Dr. Blevins joined the Baylor faculty in 2011.

Dr. Blevins earned a bachelor’s degree in economics and speech communications and a master’s degree in secondary education from Trinity University in San Antonio. She holds a Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin.

Angela Duckworth will be the first holder of the newly established Rosa Lee and Egbert Chang Professorship at the University of Pennsylvania. She will hold a dual appointment at the Wharton School and the College of Arts and Sciences. She is the author of Grit: The Power of Passion and Perseverance (Scribner, 2018).

Professor Duckworth holds a bachelor’s degree in neurobiology from Harvard University. She earned a master’s degree in neuroscience at the University of Oxford in England and a Ph.D. in psychology at the University of Pennsylvania.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply