Three Women Scholars Who Have Been Appointed to Endowed Professorships

Cathy Eng was named to the David H. Johnson Chair in Surgical and Medical Oncology at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. She joined the faculty at the Vanderbilt medical school last fall after teaching at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. Dr. Eng is co-director of the Gastrointestinal Program and co-leader of the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center Gastrointestinal Cancer Research Program. Dr. Eng received her medical degree from Hahnemann University School of Medicine in Philadelphia. She completed a residency in internal medicine at Rush University Medical Center in Chicago.

M. Lisa Manning, professor of physics and founding director of the Institute for Material and Living Systems at Syracuse University in New York, has been named the William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor of Physics. Dr. Manning joined the faculty at Syracuse University in 2011. She is a 2002 graduate of the University of Virginia, where she double majored in mathematics and physics. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in physics from the University of California, Santa Barbara. Before joining the faculty at Syracuse, Dr. Manning spent three years as a postdoctoral fellow at Princeton University.

Tara Leigh Grove will join the University of Alabama School of Law in August as the Charles E. Tweedy, Jr. Endowed Chairholder in Law. She has been teaching at the William & Mary Law School in Virginia. Professor Grove graduated summa cum laude from Duke University and magna cum laude from Harvard Law School, where she served as the Supreme Court Chair of the Harvard Law Review. Professor Grove clerked for Judge Emilio Garza on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply