Four Women in Academia Honored With Notable Awards

Ann Brothers Smith has been recognized by the American Association of University Administrators with the Dan L. King Award for University and College Trustee Leadership. Dr. Smith, a retired administrator for the Detroit public school system, has served as a member of the West Virginia State University Board of Governors since 2011.

A graduate of West Virginia State University, Dr. Smith earned a master’s degree from Ohio State University and an educational doctorate from Wayne State University in Detroit.

Julie Wheeler, principal lecturer in Family and Consumer Sciences Education at Utah State University, recently received the Utah Association Teachers of Family and Consumer Sciences Lifetime Achievement Award and the Utah Association for Career and Technical Education Lifetime Achievement Award.

Wheeler has taught at Utah State for 23 years. She holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in home economics education from Utah State University.

Yoko Kano, senior lecturer in the department of world languages and cultures at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, was the recipient of the 2020 Teacher of the Year Award from the Southeastern Association of Teachers of Japanese. The award honors educators who demonstrate excellence in teaching and exemplary dedication to Japanese language education.

Kano is a graduate of Kansai University of Foreign Studies in Osaka, Japan, where she majored in English. She holds a master’s degree in multicultural education from Iona College in New Rochelle, New York.

Beatriz Colomina, the Howard Crosby Butler Professor of the History of Architecture and co-director of the Program in Media and Modernity at Princeton University in New Jersey, has been awarded the 2020 Ada Louise Huxtable Prize for Contribution to Architecture from the W Awards, given in association with The Architectural Review and Architects’ Journal.

Professor Colomina holds a Ph.D. from the Escola Técnica Superior de Arquitectura de Barcelona, Universidad Politécnica de Barcelona in Spain.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply