University of Colorado’s Kristi Anseth to Receive the For Women in Science Award for North America

The L’Oréal Foundation and UNESCO have announced the winners of the 22nd For Women in Science Awards, which honor five exceptional women scientists from different regions of the world. Each of the five laureates will receive 100,000 euros at a ceremony on March 12 at UNESCO headquarters in Paris.

The winner from North America is Kristi Anseth, Distinguished Professor of chemical and biological engineering, the Tisone Professor, and associate professor of surgery at the University of Colorado at Boulder. She is being honored “for her outstanding contribution in converging engineering and biology to develop innovative biomaterials that help tissue regeneration and drug delivery.”

Professor Anseth joined the faculty at the University of Colorado in 1996. She is a graduate of Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana, where she majored in chemical engineering. She holds a Ph.D. in chemical engineering from the University of Colorado at Boulder.

The four other winners of the For Women in Science Awards are:

  • Abla Mehio Sibai, professor of epidemiology at the American University of Beirut
  • Edith Heard,  Director General of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory and chair of epigenetics and cellular memory at the Collège de France in Paris
  • Firdausi Qadri, senior scientist at the International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease and Research in Dhaka, Bangladesh
  • Esperanza Martínez-Romero , professor of environmental science at the Genomic Science Center of the National Autonomous University of Mexico in Mexico City

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply