Three Women Educators Recognized With Prestigious Awards

Marina Picciotto, the Charles B.G. Murphy Professor of Psychiatry and Professor in the Child Study Center, of Neuroscience, and of Pharmacology at the Yale School of Medicine, has received the 2020 Marion Spencer Fay Award from the Institute for Women’s Health and Leadership of the College of Medicine at Drexel University in Philadelphia. The annual award recognizes a woman physician or scientist who has made an exceptionally significant contribution to health care as a practitioner, medical educator, administrator, or research scientist. Dr. Picciotto is honored for her groundbreaking research on the role of nicotine in addiction, memory, and behavior, and the biology of drug addiction.

Dr. Picciotto is a graduate of Stanford University where she majored in biological sciences. She holds a Ph.D. in molecular neurobiology from Rockefeller University in New York City.

Kay K. Sanders, a former nurse anesthesia program administrator in the Harris College of Nursing and Health Sciences at Texas Christian University, is the recipient of the Helen Lamb Outstanding Educator Award from the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists. The annual award is presented to a Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist who has made significant contributions to the education of nurse anesthetists. In addition to her role as program administrator, Dr. Sanders also served as the founding director of the School of Nurse Anesthesia at TCU. She recently retired from her position on May 31, 2019.

Dr. Sanders holds a bachelor’s degree in English literature from Tulane University in New Orleans, a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Texas Woman’s College, a master’s degree in nurse anesthesia from Texas Wesleyan College, and a doctorate in nursing practice degree from Texas Christian University.

Stacey Ostby, co-director of the veterinary technology program at North Dakota State University, received the Elsevier Award for Teaching Excellence from the Association of Veterinary Technician Educators. The award honors veterinary technology educators who are recognized by their students and colleagues as being exceptional instructors.

Ostby holds a bachelor’s degree in veterinary technology and a master’s degree in educational leadership both from North Dakota State University.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply