Seven Women in Higher Education Who Were Selected to Receive Prestigious Awards

MiYoung Kwon, an assistant professor in the department of ophthalmology and visual sciences at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, received the Low Vision Research Award from Research to Prevent Blindness and the Lions Club International Foundation. The award comes with a $300,000 research grant.

Dr. Kwon earned a Ph.D. in cognitive and biological psychology (with statistics minor) at the University of Minnesota.

Leykia Nulan, director of freshman admissions and assistant provost for diversity and enrollment at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, has received the 2019 Professional of the Year Award from the New England Association for College Admission Counseling. She was honored for her contributions to the field of college admission and counseling.

Nulan is a graduate of Wheaton College where she majored in sociology. She holds a master’s degree in higher education from the University of Pennsylvania.

Ann Berry Somers, senior lecturer in the departments of biology and geography, environment, and sustainability at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, has been selected to receive the Distinguished Teaching Award in STEM Education from the North Carolina Association for Biomedical Research.

Somers’ research focuses on the biology and conservation of box turtles. She holds a master’s degree from Appalachian State University in Boone, North Carolina.

Janelle M. Walter, professor of nutrition sciences in Baylor University’s Robbins College of Health and Human Sciences, received the 2019 Distinguished Service Award from the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences.

Dr. Walter holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Houston. She earned a Ph.D. at Iowa State University.

Gilda A. Barabino, dean of The City College of New York’s Grove School of Engineering has been selected to receive the 2019 Award for Service to Society from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. The award, which will be presented at the institute’s annual meeting in November, recognizes outstanding contributions by a chemical engineer to community service and to the solution of socially oriented problems.

Dr. Barabino received a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Xavier University of Louisiana and a Ph.D. in chemical engineering from Rice University in Houston.

Ethel Frese, professor of physical therapy at Saint Louis University in Missouri, received the Lucy Blair Service Award from the American Physical Therapy Association. Dr. Frese researches student issues including mentoring and stress, as well as the development and description of specialty practice for cardiovascular and pulmonary physical therapy.

Professor Frese received a doctorate in physical therapy from the College of Health Sciences at Saint Louis University.

Sandra San Miguel, a professor and associate dean for engagement at the College of Veterinary Medicine at Purdue University in Indiana, received the Outstanding Public Service Award from Multiplying Good, a national nonprofit dedicated to powering and celebrating public service. She was honored for the creation of an after-school program named This is How We “Role.” The program is designed to increase interest in careers in veterinary medicine.

Dr. San Miguel holds a master’s degree, a doctor of veterinary medicine degree, and a Ph.D., all from Purdue University.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply