Ten Women Faculty Members Who Are Taking on New Duties in Higher Education

Afua Hirsch has been named to the Wallis Annenberg Chair in Journalism and Communication at the University of Southern California. She is a writer and broadcaster for two leading British media outlets, the Guardian and Sky News. She is the author of Brit(ish): On Race, Identity and Belonging (Penguin, 2018).

Hirsch holds a bachelor’s degree in philosophy, politics, and economics from the University of Oxford and a law degree from The City Law School.

Angela Wilson has been named chair-elect of the chemistry section of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She is the John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor of computational chemistry at Michigan State University.

Dr. Wilson holds a bachelor’s degree from Eastern Washington University and a Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota.

Cynthia Cryder has been granted tenure as an associate professor of marketing at the Olin Business School at Washington University in St. Louis. She has been a faculty member at the university since 2009.

Dr. Cryder is a summa cum laude graduate of Ohio State University where she majored in psychology and minored in business and Italian. She holds a master’s degree in behavioral research design and a Ph.D. in behavioral research design and psychology both from Carnegie Mellon University.

Collette Chapman-Hilliard has been appointed to the editorial board of The Counseling Psychologist. She is an assistant professor in the counseling and human development services department in the College of Education at the University of Georgia.

Dr. Chapman-Hilliard holds a bachelor’s degree in cognitive studies and child development from Vanderbilt University in Nashville, a master’s degree in educational psychology, and a Ph.D. in counseling psychology both from the University of Texas.

Jeanne Mosure has been named the first Executive in Residence in the Williamson College of Business Administration at Youngstown State University in Ohio. She formerly served as senior vice president and group global publisher of Disney Publishing Worldwide.

Mosure holds a bachelor of fine arts degree from Kent State University in Ohio.

Jin-Hee Cho has been named associate professor in the department of computer science in the College of Engineering at Virginia Tech. She was a computer scientist at the U.S. Army Research Laboratory in Adelphi, Maryland.

Dr. Cho holds a bachelor’s degree in social work from Ewha Womans University in Seoul, Korea, a master’s degree in social work from Washington University in St. Louis, and both a master’s degree and Ph.D. in computer science from Virginia Tech.

Rebecca Kuehl has been named program coordinator of the women’s and gender studies program at South Dakota State University. She currently serves as an associate professor in communication studies and has been a faculty member at the university since 2011.

Dr. Kuehl holds a bachelor’s degree in communication studies from Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota, a master’s degree in speech communication from the University of Georgia, and a Ph.D. in communication studies from the University of Minnesota.

Lorrie Faith Cranor has been named director of the CyLab, the security and privacy institute at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh. She currently serves as the FORE Systems Professor of Computer Science and of Engineering and Public Policy, as director of the CyLab Usable Privacy and Security Laboratory, and as co-director of the Privacy Engineering master’s degree program at the university.

Dr. Cranor holds a bachelor’s degree in engineering and public policy, a master’s degree in technology and human affairs, a master’s degree in computer science, and a doctorate in engineering and policy all from Washington University in St. Louis.

Mae Ngai has been appointed the 2018-2019 Wayne Morse Chair of Law and Politics at the University of Oregon. She is the Lung Family Professor of Asian American Studies and a professor of history at Columbia University. She is the author of Impossible Subjects: Illegal Aliens and the Making of Modern America (Princeton University Press, 2014).

Dr. Ngai holds a bachelor’s degree from Empire State College in Saratoga Springs, New York, and a master’s degree and Ph.D. both from Columbia University.

Julie Kanter has been named director of the Adult Sickle Cell Clinic within the Division of Hematology and Oncology and department of medicine at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. She will have an appointment as an associate professor and as co-director of the Comprehensive Sickle Cell Disease Center, and will have a secondary appointment within the department of pediatrics. She was director of sickle cell research at the Medical University of South Carolina.

Dr. Kanter holds a medical doctorate from Tulane University in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply