Four Women Scholars Receive Prestigious Honors or Awards

Faye Taxman, founder and director of the Center for Advancing Correctional Excellence at George Mason University in Fairfax, Virginia, has been named an American Society of Criminology fellow. The society names three to four fellows each year for significant contributions made to the field of criminology. Dr. Taxman holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Tulsa in Oklahoma and a Ph.D. from the Rutgers University’s School of Criminal Justice.

Menah Pratt-Clarke, vice president of strategic affairs and vice provost at Virginia Tech, received the 2018 Academic Leadership award from the National GEM Consortium. She was recognized for her work in advancing diversity in STEM. Dr. Pratt-Clarke holds a bachelor’s degree in English with minors in philosophy and African-American studies and a master’s degree in literary studies from the University of Iowa. She also holds a master’s degree in sociology, a Ph.D. in sociology, and a law degree from Vanderbilt University.

Kimberly Quiogue Andrews, assistant professor of English and creative writing at Washington College in Chestertown, Maryland, has won the 2018 Akron Poetry Prize from the University of Akron Press for her first full-length collection, “A Brief History of Fruit.” Dr. Andrews holds a bachelor’s degree in writing seminars from Johns Hopkins University, a master’s degree in creative writing from Pennsylvania State University, and a Ph.D. in English language and literature from Yale University.

Pratbiha Dev, assistant professor of physics at Howard University in Washington, D.C., has received the National Science Foundation CAREER Award. This award provides early-career faculty in STEM with funds to advance research in their respective fields. Dr. Dev’s research focuses on how the immediate environment of 2D-crystals affects their properties. She has been a professor at Howard University for the past three years and holds a Ph.D. in physics from the University at Buffalo of the State University of New York System.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply