Three Women Scholars Appointed to Endowed Chairs at Major Universities

Rebecca Saxe is the inaugural John W. Jarve (1978) Professor in Brain and Cognitive Sciences at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Professor Saxe joined the faculty at MIT in 2006. She was promoted to associate professor in 2011 and to full professor in 2015.

Dr. Saxe is a graduate of Oxford University in England, where she majored in psychology and philosophy. She holds a Ph.D. in cognitive science from MIT.

Ruth Yeazell was appointed the Sterling Professor of English at Yale University. She is the author of several books including Art of the Everyday: Dutch Painting and the Realist Novel (Princeton University Press, 2007) and Harems of the Mind: Passages of Western Art and Literature (Yale University Press, 2000).

Professor Yeazell joined the faculty at Yale in 1991 after teaching at Boston University and the University of California, Los Angeles. She is a graduate of Swarthmore College in Pennsylvania and holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in English literature from Yale University.

Elizabeth Cerejido was appointed to the Esperanza Bravo de Varona Chair of the Cuban Heritage Collection at the University of Miami Libraries. She is the former curator for the Phillip and Patricia Art Museum at Florida International University in Miami.

A native of Cuba, Cerejido came to the United States as a baby in 1970. She holds a bachelor’s degree in art history from Florida International University and a master’s degree in Latin American studies from the University of Miami. She is currently completing work on a Ph.D. in art history from the University of Florida.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply