A Trio of Women Scholars Selected to Receive Notable Awards

Kathryn Mann, an assistant professor of mathematics at Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island, has been selected to receive the 2019 Joan and Joseph Birman Research Prize in Topology and Geometry from the Association for Women in Mathematics. She joined the faculty at Brown in 2017 after teaching for three years at the University of California, Berkeley.

Dr. Mann is a graduate of the University of Toronto, where she majored in mathematics and philosophy. She holds a Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of Chicago.

Crystal A. George Mwangi, an assistant professor in the department of educational policy, research and administration at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, will receive the 2018 Innovative Research in International Education Award from NAFSA: Association of International Educators.

Dr. George Mwangi is a graduate of Rollins College in Winter Park, Florida. She holds a master’s degree from Florida State University and a Ph.D. from the University of Maryland, College Park.

Katharine Hayhoe, a professor in the department of political science and director of the Climate Science Center at Texas Tech University in Lubbock, has been chosen to receive the eighth annual Stephen H. Schneider Award for Outstanding Climate Science Communication from Climate One. a consortium of California organizations concerned with promoting clean energy.

Dr. Hayhoe is a graduate of the University of Toronto. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in atmospheric science from the University of Illinois.


Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply