Five Women Scholars Named to Positions as Deans

Lynn Mauer was named dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Lamar University in Beaumont, Texas, effective July 1. Since 2014, Dr. Mauer has been serving as dean of the College of Graduate and Professional Studies and chief research officer at Indiana State University in Terre Haute. Earlier, she was associate dean of the graduate school at Southern Illinois University in Edwardsville.

Dr. Maurer is a graduate of Otterbein University in Westerville, Ohio, where she majored in Spanish. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in political science from Ohio State University.

Donna Nickitas was appointed dean of the School of Nursing at the Camden campus of Rutgers University in New Jersey. She will become dean on July 1. Dr. Nickitas is a professor and executive director of the nursing science Ph.D. program at the Hunter-Bellevue School of Nursing of the City University of New York.

A retire U.S. Air Force major, Dr. Nickitas is a graduate of Stony Brook University in New York. She earned a master’s degree at New York University and a Ph.D. from Adelphi University in Garden City, New York.

Toddi Steelman will be the next dean of the Nicholas School of the Environment at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina. She currently serves as the executive director of the School of Environment and Sustainability at the University of Saskatchewan in Canada.

Dr. Steelman is a graduate of West Virginia University, where she majored in political science and international studies. She holds a master of public affairs degree from Princeton University and a Ph.D. from Duke University.

Elisabeth Young is the new dean of the College of Medicine at the Northeast Ohio Medical University. She was vice dean of the College of Medicine. Dr. Young is the first graduate of the school to later become dean. She joined the faculty at the university in 1990.

A 1985 graduate of NEOMED, Dr. Young completed an internal medicine residency at Riverside/Methodist Hospitals in Cleveland and a rheumatology fellowship at Case Western Reserve University Hospitals of Cleveland.

Carolyn Henry is the new dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Missouri. She has been serving as interim dean since August and since 2011 has been associate director of research at the Ellis Fischel Cancer Center. She is the first board-certified oncologist on the faculty at the veterinary school. Dr. Henry joined the faculty at the University of Missouri in 1997.

Dr. Henry holds a master’s degree and a doctorate in veterinary medicine from Auburn University in Alabama.

Filed Under: Appointments


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply