A Quartet of Women Scholars Who Have Been Awarded Notable Honors

M. Shawn Copeland, a professor of theology at Boston College, was presented with the Marianist Award from the University of Dayton. The award honors a Roman Catholic scholar for lifetime contributions to the Catholic intellectual tradition. Professor Copeland is the author of the books, Enfleshing Freedom: Body, Race, and Being (Fortress Press, 2010) and The Subversive Power of Love: The Vision of Henriette Delille (Paulist Press, 2009).

Professor Copeland holds a Ph.D. from Boston College and the Andover Newton Theological Seminary.

Carrie Menkel-Meadow, Chancellor’s Professor of Law at the University of California, Irvine, has been selected to receive the 2018 American Bar Foundation Fellows Outstanding Scholar Award. The award honors a scholar who has engaged in outstanding scholarship in the law or government. Professor Menkel-Meadow joined the faculty at the University of California, Irvine in 2008 after teaching at the Georgetown University Law Center.

Professor Menkel-Meadow is a magna cum laude graduate of Barnard College in New York City. She earned her juris doctorate at the University of Pennsylvania Law School.

Susan Bazyk, professor of occupational therapy at Cleveland State University, has been chosen to receive the 2017 Emerging and Innovative Practice Award from the American Occupational Therapy Association. The award honors occupational therapists who have developed innovative or non-traditional practices to help underserved populations. Professor Bazyk has taught at Cleveland State University since 1984.

Dr. Bazyk is a graduate of Ohio State University. She earned a master’s degree in occupational therapy at the University of Florida and a Ph.D. in human services from Capella University.

Mary Jo Fayoyin, an assistant professor and dean of library services at Savannah State University, will receive a 2017 I Love My Librarian Award from the American Library Association.

Fayoyin is a graduate of what is now Fairmont State University in West Virginia. She holds a master of library science degree from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.


Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply