Nine Women Faculty Members Who Have New Posts or Duties

Claire Chase was appointed a professor of practice in the music department at Harvard University. She is  an accomplished flute player who has performed throughout the world. Chase is the co-founder of the International Contemporary Ensemble.

Chase received a bachelor’s degree from the Oberlin College Conservatory of Music in Ohio. In 2012, she was named a MacArthur Fellow.

Julie A. Caswell was elevated to the rank of Distinguished Professor at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. She joined the faculty at the university in 1984 and was named a full professor of resource economics in 1994. Since 2014, Dr. Caswell has also served as associate dean for the College of Social and Behavioral Science.

Professor Caswell is a graduate of Michigan State University. She earned a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in economic and agricultural economics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Chiquita A. Collins was named an associate professor in the department of epidemiology and biostatistics at the School of Medicine of the University of Texas at San Antonio. She will also serve as the inaugural vice dean for inclusion and chief diversity officer. Dr. Collins was the associate dean of diversity and cultural competence at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore.

Dr. Collins is a graduate of the University of Illinois at Chicago and holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in sociology from the University of Michigan.

Alice Kassens, the John Shannon Professor of Economics at Roanoke College in Salem, Virginia, was given the added duties of director of the college’s new Center for Economic Freedom.

Professor Kassens is a graduate of the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia, where she double majored in economics and history. She earned a Ph.D. in economics at North Carolina State University.

Natalie Goldberg, a professor of extension plant sciences at New Mexico State University, was named director of the university’s Agricultural Experiment Station. She is the first woman to lead the AES since it was established in 1907.

Professor Goldberg joined the faculty at New Mexico State University in 1993. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in plant pathology from the University of Arizona.

S. Gail Eckhardt was named chair of the new department of oncology at the Dell Medical School of the University of Texas at Austin. She joined the faculty at the medical school in 2016 and serves as associate dean of cancer programs and executive director of the LiveStrong Cancer Institutes.

Dr. Eckhardt earned her medical degree at the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston.

Aradhna Tripati, who holds faculty positions in atmospheric and oceanic sciences and earth and space sciences at the University of California, Los Angeles, was given the added duties as the inaugural director of the Center for Diverse Leadership in Science at the university.

The daughter of immigrants from Fiji, Dr. Tripati is a graduate of California State University, Los Angeles. She earned a Ph.D. in earth sciences at the University of California, Santa Cruz.

Annette Hosoi, the Neil and Jane Pappalardo Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was given the added responsibilities as associate dean of MIT’s School of Engineering. Professor Hosoi joined the faculty at MIT in 2002.

Professor holds degrees in physics from Princeton University and the University of Chicago.

Heather Hyde Minor, a professor of art history at the University of Notre Dame, was appointed academic director of the university’s Rome Global Gateway. She will spend two years overseeing the university’s operations in Rome.

An expert in 17th- and 18th-century European art, Professor Hyde Minor is the author of The Culture of Architecture in Enlightenment Rome (Pennsylvania State University, 2010). A graduate of Mount Holyoke College in South Hadley, Massachusetts, Dr. Hyde Minor earned a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in art and archaeology from Princeton University.


Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply