Six Women Scholars Who Have Been Appointed to Endowed Academic Positions

Jameela Lares was named the Charles W. Moorman Distinguished Alumni Professor of the Humanities at the University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg. Professor Lares has been a member of the English department faculty at the university since 1995.

Professor Lares is a graduate of California State University, Fullerton. She earned a master’s degree at the University of California, Los Angeles and a Ph.D. at the University of Southern California.

Janice Naegele was appointed to the Alan M. Dachs Professorship of Science in the department of biology at Wesleyan University in Middletown, Connecticut. Dr. Naegele has taught at Wesleyan since 1991. Her research is focused on applications of stem cell transplantation for neural repair.

Professor Naegele is a graduate of Mount Holyoke College in South Hadley, Massachusetts. She earned her Ph.D. at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Anne Jarvis will be the inaugural Robert H. Taylor 1930 University Librarian at Princeton University in New Jersey. Jarvis came to Princeton in 2016 from the University of Cambridge in England where she served as University Librarian since 2009.

Jarvis is a graduate of Trinity College Dublin. She holds a master’s degree in communication and cultural studies from Dublin City University and a master’s degree from the University of Cambridge. She also earned a diploma in library and information studies from University College Dublin.

Amber Barnato was appointed the inaugural Susan J. and Richard M. Levy 1960 Distinguished Professor in Health Care Delivery at Dartmouth College in Hanover, New Hampshire. She will be a professor of health policy and clinical practice in the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth.

Dr. Barnato has been serving as an associate professor of medicine, clinical and translational science, and health policy and management at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and the Graduate School of Public Health. She holds a master’s degree from Stanford University, a master of public health degree from the University of California, and a medical doctorate from Harvard University.

Annaleena Parhankangas was named to the Milton Nies Endowed Chair in Entrepreneurship at South Dakota State University. She will joined the economics department later this month. Since 2011, she has taught at the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Dr. Parhankangas holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in industrial engineering and management from the Helsinki University of Technology in Finland.

Su Fang Ng was appointed the Clifford A. Cutchins III Professor of English at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in Blacksburg. She has been serving as an associate professor of English at the University of Oklahoma. Dr. Ng is the author of Literature and the Politics of Family in Seventeenth-Century England (Cambridge University Press, 2007).

Professor Ng is a graduate of Whitman College in Walla Walla, Washington. She holds a master’s degree from Emory University in Atlanta and a Ph.D. in English literature from the University of Michigan.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply