Four Women Among the Five Macy Faculty Scholars for 2017

The Josiah Macy Jr. Foundation recently announced the latest cohort of five Macy Faculty Scholars. Each scholar receives up to $100,000 in salary support annually for two years. The program seeks to identify and nurture the careers of educational innovators in the fields of medicine and nursing. The deans of their institutions agree to allow the scholars to spend at least half of their work time on educational reform projects at their schools.

This year, four of the five Macy Faculty Scholars are women.

Ashley Darcy-Mahoney is a neonatal nurse practitioner and an assistant professor at the George Washington University School of Nursing in Washington, D.C. Dr. Darcy-Mahoney is a nursing graduate of Georgetown University in Washington, D.C. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in nursing from the University of Pennsylvania.

Maja Djukie is an assistant professor in the College of Nursing at New York University. Dr. Djukie is a graduate of Tulsa Community College in Oklahoma and holds a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Northeastern State University in Tahlequah, Oklahoma. Dr. Djukie holds a master’s degree in nursing education and a Ph.D. from New York University.

Jennifer Kesselheim is an assistant professor of pediatrics at Harvard Medical School. Since 2013 she has been the director of the master of medical sciences in medical education degree program. Dr. Kesselheim is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin and the School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. She also earned a master’s degree in medical ethics from the University of Pennsylvania and a master’s degree in medical education from Harvard University.

Jeannette M. Tetrault is an associate professor of medicine at Yale University. She also serves as the director of Addiction Medicine Fellowship program. Her work focuses on care of patients with addiction and the medical co-morbidities associated with substance use, mainly HIV and Hepatitis C. Dr. Tetrault is a graduate of Boston University and the Boston University School of Medicine.


Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply