Five Women Scholars Appointed to Endowed Chairs

Marvella Ford was named to the SmartState Endowed Chair in Prostate Cancer Disparities at South Carolina State University in Orangeburg. It is the first endowed chair in the university’s history.

Dr. Ford has been serving as a tenured professor in the department of public health sciences at the Medical University of South Carolina. She also was the associate director of Population Sciences and Cancer Disparities at the Hollings Cancer Center of the Medical University of South Carolina.

Marianne Janack was appointed to the John Stewart Kennedy Chair of Philosophy at Hamilton College in Clinton, New York. She joined the college’s faculty in 2001. Professor Janack is the author of What We Mean by Experience (Stanford University Press, 2012) and the editor of Re-reading the Canon: Feminist Interpretations of Richard Rorty (Penn State University Press,  2010).

Professor Janack is a graduate of Colgate University in Hamilton, New York, and holds a doctorate from Syracuse University in New York.

Valerie Hansen was named the Stanley Woodward Professor of History at Yale University. Her research focuses on China before the year 1600. She is the author of several books including The Silk Road: A New History (Oxford University Press, 2012) and Changing Gods in Medieval China, 1127-1279 (Princeton University Press, 1990).

Professor Hansen joined the faculty at Yale University in 1988. She is a graduate of Harvard University and holds a Ph.D. from the University of Pennsylvania.

Marcia Hoy is the inaugural DeForrest Jackson Professor in the School of Advertising and Public Relations at the University of Tennessee. The endowed chair is the first in the school’s history. Dr. Hoy joined the faculty at the University of Tennessee in 1989.

Professor Hoy is a graduate of the University of Central Oklahoma, where she majored in journalism. She holds a master’s and doctoral degree in business administration from Oklahoma State University.

Lynne M. Thomas was named the Juanita J. and Robert E. Simpson Rare Book and Manuscript Library Chair at the University of Illinois. Since 2004, she has been the curator of rare books and special collections at Northern Illinois University.

Thomas is a graduate of Smith College in Northampton, Massachusetts. She holds a master of library and information science degree from the University of Illinois and a master’s degree in English and American literature from Northern Illinois University.


Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply