Honors and Awards for Six Women Scholars in Academia

Catherine J. Randall, director emerita of the Computer-Based Honors Program at the University of Alabama, is being honored by the having the program renamed in her honor. In 2018 the name will be changed to the Catherine J. Randall Research Scholars Program. Dr. Randall led the Honors Program for 25 years.

Dr. Randall holds a bachelor’s degree, two master’s degrees, and two doctoral degrees, all from the University of Alabama.

Bozenna Pasik-Duncan, professor of mathematics at the University of Kansas, was selected to receive the Outstanding Service Award from the International Federation of Automatic Control. She will be honored in July in Toulouse, France.

Professor Pasik-Duncan is a native of Poland. She holds a master’s degree in mathematics from the University of Warsaw and two doctoral degrees in mathematics from the Warsaw School of Economics.

Louise Lamphere, a Distinguished Professor of Anthropology Emerita at the University of New Mexico, received the Bronislaw Malinowski Award from the Society of Applied Anthropology. The award honors a senior scholar for “a career in pursuit of solving human problems using the concepts and tools of the social sciences.”

Professor Lamphere is a past president of the American Anthropological Association. She is a co-author of Sunbelt Working Mothers: Reconciling Family and Factory (Cornell University Press, 1993).

Arletha McSwain, dean of the Online College at Bethune-Cookman University in Daytona Beach, Florida, has been selected to receive the Hall of Fame Award from the United States Distance Learning Association. Dr. McSwain joined the faculty at Bethune-Cookman in 2014. Earlier, she was dean of the School of Extended Learning and a professor of education at Norfolk State University in Virginia.

Dr. McSwain holds bachelor’s and master’s degree from Lincoln University in Jefferson City, Missouri. She earned a Ph.D. in early childhood education from the University of Missouri.

Barbie Vander Boegh was selected to receive the 2017 E. Dean Lovett Award for Exemplary Contributions to a College Health Program from the American College Health Association. She is the director of health and wellness services at the College of Idaho in Caldwell.

Vander Boegh serves as president of the Pacific Coast College Health Association. She joined the staff at the College of Idaho in 2013.

Kristina Killgrove, an assistant professor of anthropology at the University of West Florida in Pensacola, received the 2017 Award for Excellence in Public Education from the Society for American Archaeology. She was honored for her online scholarship.

Dr. Killgrove is a graduate of the University of Virginia. She holds a master’s degree from East Carolina University in Greenville, North Carolina, and a second master’s degree and a Ph.D. in anthropology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply