Notable Honors and Awards for Seven Women Scholars in Academia

Nancy Schmieder Redeker, the Beatrice Renfield Term Professor of Nursing at Yale University, received the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame Award from Sigma Theta Tau International. The award honors an individual who has “achieved significant and sustained national or international recognition and whose research has improved the profession and the people it serves.” Professor Redeker will be honored at the Annual Nursing Rresearch Conference in Dublin, Ireland, in July.

Professor Redeker is a graduate of Rutgers University, where she majored in sociology. She holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in nursing from Seton Hall University in New Jersey and a Ph.D in nursing research and theory development from New York University. She is the co-editor of Sleep Disorders and Sleep Promotion in Nursing Practice (Springer, 2011).

Nilanjana Dasgupta, professor of psychological and brain sciences and director of faculty equity and inclusion in the College of Natural Sciences at the University of Massachusetts, received the 2016 Application of Personality and Social Psychology Award from the Society for Personality and Social Psychology.

Professor Dasgupta is a graduate of Smith College in Northampton, Massachusetts. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in social psychology from Yale University.

Carol Frieze, the director of the Women@SCS, a student/faculty organization promoting women in computer science at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, has been selected to receive the 2017 A. Nico Habermann Award from the Computing Research Association.

Dr. Frieze is the co-author of Kicking Butt in Computer Science: Women in Computing at Carnegie Mellon University (Dog Ear Publishing, 2015). She holds a Ph.D. in cultural studies in computer science from Carnegie Mellon University.

Em Claire Knowles, assistant dean for student and alumni affairs at Simmons College in Boston, has received the Beta Phi Mu Award from the International Library and Information Studies Honor Society. Dr. Knowles was honored for “distinguished service to education for librarianship.”

Dr. Knowles has been with Simmons College since 1988. She holds a doctorate in library administration from Simmons College.

Patty Hacker, a professor of health and nutritional sciences at South Dakota State University, received the American Honor Award from the Society of Health and Physical Educators.

Dr. Hacker in a graduate of Glenville State College in West Virginia. She holds a master’s degree in physical education from West Virginia University and a doctorate in physical education pedagogy from the University of Wyoming.

Bridgette Rahim-Williams, associate dean for research at Bethune-Cookman University in Daytona Beach, Florida, has been chosen to receive the 2017 Medallion from the Network of Minority Research Investigators. She will be honored at the organization’s annual meeting in Bethesda, Maryland, in April.

Dr. Rahim-Williams is a graduate of Spelman College in Atlanta, where she majored in English. She holds a master’s degree in communication, a master of public health degree, and a Ph.D. in applied biomedical anthropology, all from the University of South Florida.

Elena Litchman, Foundation Professor of integrative biology at Michigan State University, has been chosen to receive the Excellence Professorship Award from the Professor Dr. Werner-Petersen Foundation in Kiel, Germany. She is being honored for her work in ecosystem ecology. A prize of 20,000 euros comes with the award.

Professor Litchman is a graduate of Moscow State University in Russia. She holds a Ph.D. in ecology from the University of Minnesota.

Filed Under: Uncategorized

RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply