New Assignments for Eight Women Faculty Members at Major Universities

Salpy V. Pamboukian, professor of medicine at the University of Alabama Birmingham, has been given the added responsibilities as director of the new Women’s Heart Health Clinic at the university.

Dr. Pamboukian holds a bachelor’s degree in pharmacy and a medical doctorate from the University of Toronto in Ontario, Canada.

Laure Resplandy is a new assistant professor of geosciences at Princeton University in New Jersey. Since 2014, she has been conducting postdoctoral research at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography at the University of California, San Diego.

Dr. Resplandy holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the Ecole Normale Superieure in Paris, France. She earned a Ph.D. at the University of Paris-Sorbonne.

Risa Lavizzo-Mourey was appointed the 19th Penn Integrates Knowledge University Professor at the University of Pennsylvania. She will join the faculty on January 1, 2018. Since 2003, Dr. Lavizzo-Mourey has been president and chief executive officer for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Earlier, she was the Sylvan Eisman Professor of Medicine and director of the Institute on Aging at the University of Pennsylvania.

Professor Lavizzo-Mourey is a graduate of Stony Book University in New York and Harvard Medical School. She holds an MBA from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania.

Nancy Chanover, professor of astronomy at New Mexico State University, was named director of the 3.5-meter telescope at the Apache Point Observatory operated by the Astrophysical Research Corporation. The consortium is a group of eight universities. Professor Chanover is the first scholar from New Mexico State University to lead the effort.

Dr. Chanover is a graduate of Wellesley College in Massachusetts, where she majored in physics. She holds a Ph.D. in astronomy from New Mexico State University.

Susan J. Curry, Distinguished Professor in the department of health management and policy and dean of the College of Public Health at the University of Iowa, was given the added duties of interim executive vice president and provost. Professor Curry joined the faculty at the University of Iowa in 2008 after teaching at the University of Illinois at Chicago and the University of Washington.

Dr. Curry is a graduate of the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in psychology from the University of New Hampshire.

Cinthia Beccacece Satorino is a new assistant professor of marketing at the University of Connecticut. She was an assistant professor of marketing at Northeastern University.

Dr. Satornino is a graduate of the University of Central Florida in Orlando. She holds an MBA from the University of Florida and a Ph.D. in marketing from Florida State University.

Beverly Gage, professor of history at Yale University, was named director of the Brady-Johnson Program in Grand Strategy, effective July 1. She is also expected to become the Brady-Johnson Professor of Grand Strategy. Professor Gage is a graduate of The Day Wall Street Exploded: A Story of American in Its Age of Terror (Oxford University Press, 2009).

Dr. Gage is a graduate of Yale University and earned a Ph.D. in history from Columbia University.

Annette Poulsen, the Augustus H. “Billy” Sterne Professor of Banking and Finance in the Terry College of Business at the University of Georgia, was named to a Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professorship. Professor Poulsen has been on the faculty at the university since 1987.

Dr. Poulsen is a summa cum laude graduate of Washington State University. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in economics from Ohio State University.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply