Five Women Faculty Members Honored With Prestigious Awards

Tina Simpson, associate professor in the department of pediatrics at the University of Alabama Birmingham, has been selected to receive the Exceptional Mentor Award from the American Medical Women’s Association. She will receive the award at the association’s meeting in San Francisco on April 1.

Dr. Simpson joined the faculty at the University of Alabama Birmingham in 2004. She is a 1998 graduate of the University of Alabama School of Medicine.

Sue Klappa, a professor of physical therapy at Briar Cliff University in Sioux City, Iowa, received the Dr. Ronnie Leavitt Award for Leadership in the Promotion of Social Responsibility in Physical Therapy from the Global Health Special Interest Group of the American Physical Therapists Association.

Dr. Klappa is a graduate of Hamline University in St. Paul, Minnesota. She holds a master’s degree from St. Catherine University and a second master’s degree and a Ph.D. in curriculum and instruction from the University of Minnesota.

Monika Williams Shealey, dean of the College of Education at Rowan University in Glassboro, New Jersey, received the Teacher Diversity Research Award from the Diversified Teaching Workforce Topical Action Group of the American Association of Colleges of Teacher Education. Before being named dean at Rowan University, Dr. Shealey served as associate dean for teacher education at the School of Education at the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

Dr. Shealey holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of South Florida in Tampa. She earned her doctorate at the University of Central Florida in Orlando.

Patricia A. Broderick, professor of physiology, pharmacology and neuroscience at the School of Medicine of the City University of New York, has been selected to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Association of Top Professionals.

Dr. Broderick is a graduate of St. Thomas Aquinas College in Sparkill, New York. She holds a master’s degree from Fordham University and a Ph.D. from St. John’s University.

Laurie Fleming, clinical associate professor of pharmacy practice at the University of Mississippi, has been selected as the winner of the 2017 Community Pharmacy Residency Excellence in Precepting Award from the American Pharmacists Association. She will receive the award at the association’s annual meeting in San Francisco later this month.

Dr. Fleming received her pharmacy doctorate at the University of Mississippi.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply