Seventeen Women Win Marshall Scholarships

Marshall ScholarshipsIn 1953 the Marshall Scholarship program was established by an act of the British Parliament. Funded by the British government, the program is a national gesture of thanks to the American people for aid received under the Marshall Plan, the U.S.-financed program that led to the reconstruction of Europe after World War II. Since the inception of the program, more than 1,800 Americans have studied in the United Kingdom as Marshall Scholars.

The scholarships provide funds for two years of study at a British university, travel, living expenses, and a book allowance. Applicants must earn a degree at an American college or university with a minimum of a 3.7 grade point average. This year 40 Marshall Scholarships were given out. Seventeen of this year’s recipients are women.

Seventeen winners of Marshall Scholarships

(L to R) Top row: Bailey Anderson, Rebecca Boslough, Joani Etskovitz, Nancy Fairbank, Taylor Harwood, and Sarah Koch. Middle row: Faiza Masood, Victoria Mousley, Maille Radford, Devika Ranjan, Debbie Samaniego, and Erin Schulte. Bottom row: Erin Simpson, Emilia Truluck, Bailey Ulbricht, Alina Utrata, and Devin Weiss.

This year’s women who have been selected as Marshall Scholars are listed below along with their undergraduate institutions.

  • Bailey Anderson, University of Texas at Austin
  • Rebecca Boslough, University of Montana
  • Joani Etskovitz, Princeton University
  • Nancy Fairbank, University of Texas at Dallas
  • Taylor Harwood, St. Catherine University
  • Sarah Koch, University of Virginia
  • Faiza Masood, Hunter College, City University of New York
  • Victoria Mousley, College of the Holy Cross
  • Maille Radford, Harvard University
  • Devika Ranjan, Georgetown University
  • Debbie Samaniego, Westminster College
  • Erin Schulte, Arizona State University
  • Erin Simpson, University of Chicago
  • Emilia Truluck, Emory University
  • Bailey Ulbricht, Carleton College
  • Alina Utrata, Stanford University
  • Devin Weiss, University of Illinois Urbana/Champaign

Filed Under: Featured


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply