Seven Women Faculty Members Receive Prestigious Honors and Awards

Jane Lubchenco, a Distinguished Professor in marine science at Oregon State University, has been selected to receive the Public Welfare Medal from the National Academy of Sciences. The medal, presented annually since 1914, honors individuals “who have worked tirelessly to promote science for the benefit of humanity.” Dr. Lubchenco is the former administrator of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Professor Lubchenco is a graduate of Colorado College and holds a master’s degree in zoology from the University of Washington and a Ph.D. in marine ecology from Harvard University.

Kristy L. Weber, the Abramson Family Professor in Sarcoma Care Excellence and a professor of orthopedic oncology at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, received the Helman Lichtenberg Crest Award from the Pi Beta Phi Fraternity for Women. The award is presented to an alumna of the organization who has exhibited excellence and outstanding leadership in their career or volunteer service to their community.

Dr. Weber is a summa cum laude graduate of the University of Missouri where she majored in animal science. She holds a medical doctorate from Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore.

Virginia Derryberry, professor emerita of art at the University of North Carolina at Asheville, has been selected to receive the 2017 Distinguished Teaching of Art Award from the College Arts Association. Professor Derryberry will be honored at the association’s annual conference in New York on February 15.

Professor Derryberry taught at the University of North Carolina at Asheville from 1996 to 2015 and was chair of the art department from 2009 to 2014. Professor Derryberry holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. She earned a master of fine arts degree in drawing and painting from the University of Tennessee.

Marina Angel, professor of law at Temple University in Philadelphia, received the Ruth Bader Ginsburg Lifetime Achievement Award from the Association of American Law Schools. Professor Angel has been on the faculty at Temple for nearly 40 years. She has published more than 40 papers on women’s rights or the status of women in law.

Professor Angel is a graduate of Barnard College and a magna cum laude graduate of Columbia Law School. She later earned a master’s degree in law from the University of Pennsylvania.

Yue Qi, an associate professor of chemical engineering and materials science at Michigan State University, has been selected to receive the 2017 Brimacombe Medal from the Minerals, Metals, and Materials Society. She will be honored at the society’s annual meeting in San Diego this March for “significant contributions in multidisciplinary computational materials science.”

Dr. Qi joined the faculty at Michigan State in 2013 after working for 12 years at General Motors. She is a graduate of Tsinghua University in China and holds a Ph.D. in materials science from the California Institute of Technology.

Megan S. Ryerson, an assistant professor of city and regional planning in the School of Design at the University of Pennsylvania, received the 2016 Fred Burggraf Award from the Transportation Research Board. The award honors the best research paper in the transportation field by a scholar under the age of 36. Her article, “Building Air Service Sustainability: Analytical Approach to Documenting Air Carrier Incentive Programs in Airport Sustainability Plans,” was published in Transportation Research Record.

Dr. Ryerson is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania, where she majored in systems engineering. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in civil and environmental engineering from the University of California, Berkeley.

Sangeeta Pratap, professor of economics at Hunter College in New York City, has been awarded the Banamex Prize by the National Bank of Mexico. The award recognizes the best research relating to an analysis or solutions for economic problems in Mexico.

A native of India, Professor Pratap joined the faculty at Hunter College in 2006. She holds a Ph.D. in economics from New York University.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply