Two Women Faculty Members Honored by the Mathematical Association of America

Mathematical Association of AmericaThe Mathematical Association of America recently awarded three scholars with the 2017 Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics. The three mathematics teachers were honored for their teaching effectiveness, contributions to mathematics education, and influence outside their institutions. The honorees received a cash award and gave a presentation at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in Atlanta earlier this month.

Francis Su, president of the Mathematical Association of America stated that “these educators exemplify the outstanding work of all our members, who demonstrate the MAA’s commitment to foster the next generation of mathematicians and elevate their potential. Their dedication to helping students see the history and interdisciplinary nature of mathematics, and to shaping the teaching of mathematics, is to be admired.”

Two of the three winners are women.

Caren Diefenderfer is a professor of mathematics at Hollins University in Roanoke, Virginia. She has served on the Hollins University faculty since 1977. Professor Diefenderfer is a graduate of Dartmouth College in Hanover, New Hampshire. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Janet Heine Barnett is a professor of mathematics at Colorado State University, Pueblo. Her scholarly work focuses on the history of mathematics. She joined the faculty at Colorado State University, Pueblo in 1990. Dr. Barnett is a graduate of Colorado State University in Fort Collins. She earned a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in mathematics at the University of Colorado, Boulder.

Filed Under: AwardsSTEM Fields


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply