Four Women Appointed to Named Professorships at the University of Chicago

The University of Chicago has announced that 16 faculty members have been appointed to named professorships. Four of the faculty members appointed to these endowed chairs are women.

Erin Adams has been named the Joseph Regenstein Professor in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. She has been on the faculty at the university since 2005. Professor Adams’ research focuses on how events at the molecular level allow the immune system to discriminate healthy tissue from infected or diseased tissue. Dr. Adams is a graduate of the University of California, San Diego. She earned a Ph.D. at the University of California, Berkeley.

Oeindrila Dube has been named the Philip K. Pearson Professor in The Pearson Institute for the Study and Resolution of Global Conflicts. She joined the faculty this past fall after teaching at New York University. Professor Dube is a graduate of Stanford University, where she majored in public policy. She earned a master’s degree in economics as a Rhodes Scholar at the University of Oxford and a Ph.D. in public policy from Harvard University.

Young-Kee Kim was appointed the Louis Block Distinguished Service Professor in Physics. Dr. Kim’s research focuses on particle physics. She joined the faculty at the University of Chicago in 2003 after teaching at the University of California, Berkeley. Dr. Kim holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Korea University. She earned a Ph.D. in physics at the University of Rochester in New York.

Amanda Woodward is the William S. Gray Distinguished Service Professor in Psychology. She has developed experimental methods to investigate social cognition in infants and young children. Since 2015, Dr. Woodward has served as deputy dean of faculty affairs for the Division of the Social Sciences. Dr. Woodward is a graduate of Swarthmore College in Pennsylvania. She earned a Ph.D. at Stanford University.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply