Notable Honors and Awards for Five Women Scholars at Major Universities

nagurney_annaAnna Nagurney, the John F. Smith Memorial Professor of Operations Management in the Isenberg School of Management at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, received the inaugural Distinguished Service Award from the Institute of Operations Research and Management Sciences.

Dr. Nagurney holds two bachelor’s degrees, a master’s degree, and a Ph.D. in applied mathematics, all from Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island.

rowley-soniaSonia J. Rowley, a postdoctoral research fellow in the School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology at the University of Hawaii at Manoa, received the Sir David Attenborough Award for Fieldwork from the Systematics Association and the Linnean Society of London. She was awarded for her research on corals at Pakin Atoll in the South Pacific.

Dr. Rowley is a graduate of Plymouth University in England. She holds a Ph.D. from Victoria University in Wellington, New Zealand.

wwintersteenWendy Wintersteen, dean of agriculture and life sciences at Iowa State University received the 2016 Carl F. Hertz Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award from the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers. She was honored for her “tireless efforts and commitment to agriculture and her leadership and contributions to Iowa, national, and international agriculture.”

Dr. Wintersteen is a graduate of Kansas State University. She earned a Ph.D. in entomology from Iowa State University.

Susan L. Forsburg, professor of biological sciences at the University of Southern California, received the 2016 Mentoring in Science Award from Nature magazine. The award comes with a $10,000 prize.

Dr. Forsburg joined the faculty at the University of Southern California in 2004 and was promoted to full professor in 2006. She is a graduate of the University of California, Berkeley and holds a Ph.D. in biology from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Deena Katz, an associate professor of personal finance planning at Texas Tech University in Lubbock, has been selected to receive the 2016  Alexandra Armstrong Award from InvestmentNews. The award honors lifetime achievement in the investment industry. Katz is also chair of Evensky & Katz/Foldes Financial Wealth Management in Miami, Florida.

Professor Katz is the author of nine books including Deena Katz’s Complete Guide to Practice Management: Tips Tools, and Templates for the Financial Adviser (Bloomberg Press, 2011). She is a graduate of Adrian College in Michigan.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply