Notable Honors and Awards for Six Women Scholars at Major Universities

dana_priestDana Priest, who holds the John S. and James L. Knight Chair in Public Affairs Journalism at the Philip Merrill College of Journalism of the University of Maryland, received the John Peter Zenger Award for Press Freedom from the University of Arizona. Professor Priest was honored for her investigative reporting for the Washington Post on the topics of secret prisons and the poor treatment of wounded soldiers.

Professor Priest has won two Pulitzer Prizes. She is a graduate of the University of California, Santa Cruz.

rosemary_chapinRosemary Chapin, professor of social work at the University of Kansas, was honored with the Pioneer Award from the National Association of Social Workers. She was honored for her scholarship and her advocacy for older Americans. Professor Chapin is the author of the textbook Social Policy for Effective Practice: A Strengths Approach, which is now in its fourth edition from Routledge.

Professor Chapin has been on the faculty at the University of Kansas since 1989. She is a graduate of Kansas State University and holds a master of social work degree and a Ph.D. in social work from the University of Minnesota.

bondMeredith Bond, dean of the College of Sciences and Health Professions at Cleveland State University, has been chosen as the winner of the 2016 Excellence in Mentoring award presented by the Association for Academic Minority Physicians and the National Research Mentoring Network.

Dr. Bond is a graduate of Macquarie University in Sydney, Australia. She holds a Ph.D. in physiology from the University of Pennsylvania.

parentKristen Parent, an assistant professor of biochemistry and molecular biology at Michigan State University, received the 2017 Young Investigator Award from the American Society for Microbiology.

Dr. Parent earned a bachelor’s degree and a Ph.D. from the University of Connecticut. She did postdoctoral research at the University of California, San Diego.

suecrawfordSue Crawford, professor of political science and international relations at Creighton University in Omaha, Nebraska, received the 2016 Charles Dick Medal of Merit from the National Guard Association of the United States. Professor Crawford also serves as a member of the Nebraska state legislature.

Dr. Crawford has been on the faculty at Creighton University since 1995. She holds a Ph.D. in American government and public policy from Indiana University.

shelly-clevenger-1Shelly Clevenger, an assistant professor of criminal justice sciences at Illinois State University, is the winner of the Faculty Teacher of the Year Award from the Division of Victimology of the American Society of Criminology.

Clevenger is the co-editor of The Intersection Between Intimate Partner Abuse, Technology, and Cybercrime (Carolina Academic Press, 2015).

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply