Honors and Awards for Seven Women in Higher Education

loftusElizabeth F. Loftus, distinguished professor of social ecology in the department of psychology and social behavior at the University of California, Irvine, received the John Maddox Prize for Standing Up for Science in London. The award is sponsored by the journal Nature, the Kohn Foundation, and the nonprofit organization Sense About Science.

Professor Loftus is a graduate of the University of California, Los Angeles, where she majored in mathematics and psychology. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in psychology from Stanford University.

griffithFrances Griffith, the associate director of the Center for Training Transportation Professionals in the department of civil engineering at the University of Arkansas, has been selected to receive the Strategic Advancement Award from the American Concrete Institute. She will be honored at the 2017 Concrete Convention and Exposition in March 2017.

For the past 17 years, Griffith has coordinated concrete field testing certification programs at the university for personnel of the Arkansas Highway and Transportation Department and their contractors.

fullerKarla Smith Fuller, an assistant professor of biology at Guttman Community College in New York City, received the Two-Year College Biology Teaching Award for Excellence in Biology Education from the National Association of Biology Teachers.

Dr. Fuller is a graduate of Texas Southern University in Houston. She holds a Ph.D. in cancer biology from Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana.

sarah_parcakSarah Parcak, an associate professor of anthropology at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, has been selected to receive a 2016 American Ingenuity Award from Smithsonian Magazine. Dr. Parcak is being honored for her use of satellites and high-resolution imagery to discover historical sites.

A native of Maine, Dr. Parcak is a graduate of Yale University. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in archaeology from the University of Cambridge in England.

wootenThe late Marie W. Wooten, a long-time faculty member and former dean of the College of Sciences and Mathematics at Auburn University in Alabama, is being recognized with the naming of an endowed chair in her honor. The Marie W. Wooten Distinguished Professorship will be awarded to a women professor in the field of neurobiology. Dr. Wooten served on the Auburn faculty from 1987 until her death in 2010.

Dr. Wooten was a graduate of the University of Memphis, where she majored in microbiology. She held a Ph.D. in cell and molecular biosciences from Texas Woman’s University.

021313_Blind_031.jpgMahzarin R. Banaji, the Richard Clarke Cabot Professor of Social Ethics and chair of the department of psychology at Harvard University, has been selected to receive the William James Fellow Award from the Association of Psychological Sciences. The award recognizes lifetime contributions to the basic science of psychology.

Dr. Banaji is a graduate of Nizam College in Hyderabad, India. She holds a master’s degree in psychology from Osmania University in India and a second master’s degree and a Ph.D. in social psychology from Ohio State University.

miller-nancyNancy A. Miller, professor of public policy at the University of Maryland, Baltimore County received the Philip G. Weiler Award for Leadership in Aging and Public Health from the American Public Health Association.

Professor Miller is a graduate of Earlham College in Richmond, Indiana. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in public policy from the University of Chicago.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply