Three Women Scholars Appointed to Endowed Professorships

mcrae_elizabethElizabeth McRae was named to the Creighton Sossomon Professorship in History at Western Carolina University in Cullowhee, North Carolina. She has served on the university’s faculty since 2000. She is the author of the forthcoming book, Mothers of Massive Resistance: White Women and the Politics of Jim Crow (Oxford University Press, 2017).

Dr. McRae is a graduate of Wake Forest University in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. She holds a master’s degree in secondary social science education from Marymount University in Arlington, Virginia, and a second master’s degree  in history from Western Carolina University. Dr. McRae earned a Ph.D. in American history at the University of Georgia.

rathmell-kimrynW. Kimryn Rathmell was appointed to the Cornelius Abernathy Craig Chair in Medicine at the Vanderbilt University Ingram Cancer Center. Her research focuses on renal cell carcinoma.

Dr. Rathmell is a graduate of the University of Northern Iowa in Cedar Falls. She holds a medical degree and a Ph.D. from Stanford University.

maynerhiannonRhiannon Mayne is the inaugural holder of the Oscar and Juanita Monnig Chair of Meteorics and Planetary Science at Texas Christian University in Fort Worth. She joined the faculty at the university in 2009 after working at the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Mayne is a graduate of the University of Edinburgh in Scotland. She earned a Ph.D. in geology at the University of Tennessee.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply