Seven Women Faculty Members Honored With Prestigious Awards

meng-leadShirley Meng, an associate professor of nanoengineering at the University of California, San Diego, received the 2016 Charles W. Tobias Young Investigator Award at the annual meeting of the Electrochemical Society in Honolulu. Dr. Meng, who also serves as director of the Sustainable Power and Energy Center at the university, was honored for her research on battery materials at the atomic level.

Dr. Meng joined the faculty at the University of California, San Diego in 2009 after teaching at the University of Florida. She holds a Ph.D. from the National University of Singapore.

mikkelsenMaiken H. Mikkelsen, an assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering and an assistant professor of physics at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina, was named the winner of the 2017 Maria Goeppert Mayer Award from the American Physical Society. The award recognizes outstanding achievement by an early-career woman in physics.

Dr. Mikkelsen is a graduate of the University of Copenhagen in Denmark. She earned a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in physics at the University of California, Santa Barbara. She joined the faculty at Duke in 2012.

Mara C. Tieken, an assistant professor of education at Bates College in Lewiston, Maine, received the Ernest A. Lynton Award for the Scholarship of Engagement for Early Career Faculty from the New England Resource Center for Higher Education.

Dr. Tieken joined the Bates College faculty in 2011 after earning a doctorate at the Harvard Graduate School of Education. She is the author of Why Rural Schools Matter (University of North Carolina Press, 2014).

bruce_loriLori Mann Bruce, the Giles Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and dean of the Graduate School at Mississippi State University, was named Distinguished Lecturer by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. She is the only woman among the 12 educators named Distinguished Lecturer by the IEEE.

Dr. Bruce is a graduate of the University of Alabama at Huntsville. She holds a Ph.D. in electrical and computer engineering from the Georgia Institute of technology.

applebaumLynn Appelbaum, a professor and director of the advertising and public relations program at the City College of New York, received the BRAVO! PR Educator of the Year Award from the Hispanic Public Relations Association.

Professor Appelbaum has taught at City College since 1993. She is a graduate of Ithaca College in New York and holds a master’s degree in arts administration from Indiana University.

sue-brantleySusan Brantley, Distinguished Professor of Geosciences and director of the Earth and Environmental Systems Institute at Pennsylvania State University, has been selected as the winner of the 2017 Geochemistry Division Medal from the American Chemical Society.

Professor Brantley holds a bachelor’s degree in chemistry, a master’s degree, and a Ph.D. in geological and geophysical sciences, all from Princeton University in New Jersey.

rainesDeborah A. Raines, an associate professor in the School of Nursing at the University at Buffalo of the State University of New York System, has been selected to receive the Isabel Hampton Robb Award for Outstanding Leadership in Clinical Practice from the National League for Nursing.

Dr. Raines is a graduate of Syracuse University in New York. She holds a master’s degree in nursing from the University of Pennsylvania and a doctorate in nursing administration and information systems from Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply