Notable Honors for Seven Women Scholars at Colleges and Universities

goodkindSara Goodkind, an associate professor of social work at the University of Pittsburgh, will receive the inaugural Deborah Harding Women of Achievement Award from the National Peace Corps Association. The award will be presented to Dr. Goodkind in Washington, D.C., by Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, president of the African nation of Liberia. The award recognizes Peace Corps volunteers who have made a significant difference to the lives of women and girls around the world.

Dr. Goodkind joined the faculty at the University of Pittsburgh in 2006. She is a magna cum laude graduate of Amherst College in Massachusetts, where she majored in sociology. She holds a master of social work degree and a Ph.D. in social work and sociology from the University of Michigan.

carter-sowell-photographAdrienne R. Carter-Sowell, an assistant professor with a joint appointment in the department of psychology and Africana studies at Texas A&M University, received the 2016 Carolyn Payton Early Career Publication Award, sponsored by the American Psychological Association. The award recognizes a theoretically based, peer-reviewed publication that demonstrates creativity and distinguishes itself as making a major contribution to deepening the understanding of the psychology of Black women.

Dr. Carter-Sowell is the director of the Science for a Diverse Society Research Group. She is a graduate of the University of Virginia and holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in social psychology from Purdue University.

ellen-goldringEllen Goldring, the Patricia and Rodes Hart Professor of Educational Policy and Leadership at Peabody College of education at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee, has been chosen to receive the 2016 Roald F. Campbell Lifetime Achievement Award from the University Council for Educational Administration. The award committee stated that “Dr. Goldring has maintained a strong contribution to educational leadership, research and policy, and made an indelible mark on the field.”

Professor Goldring joined the faculty at Vanderbilt University in 1991. She holds Ph.D. from the University of Chicago.

saundra_mcguireSandra Yancy McGuire, a professor of chemistry at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge, has been selected to receive the Award for Encouraging Disadvantaged Students Into Careers in the Chemical Sciences from the American Chemical Society. The award, sponsored by the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, will be presented to Professor McGuire next April at the national meeting of the American Chemical Society in San Francisco.

Dr. McGuire joined the faculty at LSU in 1999. She is a graduate of Southern University in Baton Rouge and earned a master’s degree at Cornell University and a Ph.D. at the University of Tennessee.

gallagher-maureen-oldham-foreign-languagesMaureen Oldham Gallagher, a lecturer in German and an affiliate faculty member in the women’s and gender studies program at Lafayette College in Easton, Massachusetts, received the 2016 Women in German Dissertation Prize from the Coalition of Women in German. Her dissertation was entitled “Young Germans in the World: Race, Gender, and Imperialism in Wilhelmine Young Adult Literature.”

Dr. Gallagher holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. She earned her Ph.D. in German studies at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst.

silverNora Silver, an adjunct professor in the business school at the University of California, Berkeley, has been selected to receive the Faculty Pioneer Award from the Aspen Institute. The award honors faculty who teach “business practices that help corporations confront society’s grand challenges.” Professor Silver is being honored for her course “Large-Scale Social Change: Social Movement.”

Dr. Silver is a graduate of George Washington University. She holds a master’s degree in human relations from San Francisco State University and a Ph.D. from the California Professional School of Psychology in San Francisco.

seger_donna-2016Donna Seger, professor of clinical medicine and emergency medicine at Vanderbilt University and the executive director of the Tennessee Poison Center, received the Career Achievement Award from the American Academy of Clinical Toxicology.

Dr. Seger joined the faculty at Vanderbilt in 1988 and was promoted to full professor in 2012. She is the deputy editor of the journal Clinical Toxicology. Dr. Seger earned a bachelor’s degree and a medical degree at the University of North Dakota.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply