Seven Women Scholars Honored With Notable Awards

Michele-CloonanMichele Cloonan, Dean of the School of Library and Information Science at Simmons College in Boston, Massachusetts, received the Preservation Publication Award from the Society of American Archivists. The award recognizes contributions to the advancement of the theory and practice of preservation in archives institutions.

Dr. Cloonan is a graduate of Bennington College in Vermont. She holds a master’s degree from the University of Chicago and a second master’s degree and a Ph.D. from the University of Illinois.

Karen C. DavisKaren C. Davis, professor of electrical engineering and computing systems at the University of Cincinnati, recently received the Sharon Keillor Award for Women in Engineering Education from the American Society for Engineering Education. She was honored at the society’s annual convention in New Orleans. Dr. Davis joined the faculty at the University of Cincinnati in 1991.

Professor Davis is a graduate of Loyola University of Louisiana. She earned a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Louisiana Lafayette.

faculty-pilgrimCarol Pilgrim, professor of psychology at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, has been selected to receive the 2017 Award for Distinguished Service to Behavior Analysis from the Society for the Advancement of Behavior Analysis.

Professor Pilgrim is a graduate of Virginia Tech. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in experimental analysis of behavior from the University of Florida.

SalaAnca Sala dean of the College of Engineering at Baker College in Troy, Michigan, was named Educator of the Year by the High Impact Technology Exchange Conference. She is being recognized for building the infrastructure for photonics education.

Dr. Sala holds a master’s degree from the Polytechnic University of Bucharest in Romania. She earned a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Toledo in Ohio.

kalteneggerLisa Kaltenegger, associate professor of astronomy and director of the Carl Sagan Institute at Cornell University, is the inaugural recipient of the Barrie Jones Award from the Open University in England and the Astrobiology Society of Britain.

Dr. Kaltenegger holds a master’s degree in physics and engineering from the Graz University of Technology and a Ph.D. from Karl Franzens University. Both institutions are in Austria.

Alison-DuvallAlison Duvall, an assistant professor of Earth and space sciences at the University of Washington, has been selected to receive the Luna B. Leopold Award from the American Geophysical Union. The award honors young scholars who have made “a significant and outstanding contribution that advances the field of Earth and planetary surface processes.”

Dr. Duvall joined the faculty at the University of Washington in 2012. She holds a Ph.D. from the University of Michigan.

perhamBrittany Perham has been selected to receive the 2016 Women’s Poet Prize presented by Barnard College in New York City. The prize honors the best second collection of poems by an American woman poet. Her winning collection – Double Portrait – will be published by W.W. Norton in 2017.

Perham is a Jones Lecturer in the creative writing program at Stanford University in California.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply