Five Women Scholars Honored With Prestigious Awards

Sue BrantleySusan L. Brantley, Distinguished Professor of Geosciences and the director of the Earth and Environmental Systems Institute at Pennsylvania State University, received the 2016 Wollaston Medal at the annual meeting of the Geological Society of London. Professor Brantley is only the second woman to win the Wollaston Medal in its 185-year history.

Professor Brantley holds a bachelor’s degree in chemistry and a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in geological and geophysical sciences, all from Princeton University in New Jersey.

c_landisCarol A. Landis, a professor of biobehavioral nursing and health systems in the school of nursing at the University of Washington, has been selected to receive the William C. Dement Academic Achievement Award from the American Academy of Sleep Medicine. Dr. Landis is being honored for “exceptional initiative and progress in the areas of sleep education and academic research.”

Dr. Landis is a graduate of the University of Pittsburgh. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in nursing from the University of California, San Francisco.

siegelmannHava T. Siegelmann, a professor in the College of Information and Computer Science at the University of Massachusetts, has been selected to receive the 2016 Hebb Award from the International Neural Network Society. Professor Siegelmann will be honored at the 2016 World Conference on Computational Intelligence in Vancouver this July.

Dr. Siegelmann is a graduate of Technion, Israel Institute of Technology in Haifa. She holds a master’s degree from Hebrew University in Jerusalem and a Ph.D. from Rutgers University in New Jersey.

parmetWendy E. Parmet, the Matthews Distinguished University Professor of Law at Northeastern University in Boston, received the Jay Healey Health Law Teachers Award from the American Society of Law, Medicine, and Ethics. Professor Parmet is the author of Populations, Public Health, and the Law (Georgetown University Press, 2009).

Professor Parmet is a summa cum laude graduate of Cornell University, where she majored in government. She went to graduate magna cum laude from Harvard Law School.

Dianne KerrDianne Kerr, professor of health education and promotion at Kent State University in Ohio, received the Dorothy B. Nyswander Open Society Award from the Society of Public Health Education. She was honored at the society’s national conference in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Professor Kerr is a graduate of Slippery Rock University in Pennsylvania. She holds a master’s degree in health and physical education from Bowling Green State University in Ohio and a Ph.D. in health education from Ohio State University.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply