Prestigious Honors or Awards for Six Women Scholars

grove_setTara Leigh Grove, professor at the William & Mary Law School in Williamsburg, Virginia, received the 2016 Paul M. Bator from the Federalist Society. The award honors an outstanding legal scholar who has not reached the age of 40. Before joining the faculty at William & Mary, Professor Grove taught at the Florida State University College of Law.

Professor Grove is a summa cum laude graduate of Duke University and a magna cum laude graduate of Harvard Law School.

CurtissCathleen Curtiss, director of experiential and creative learning at Daemen College in Alfred, New York, received the Morris Berman Citation from the National Press Photographers Association. The award is given to an individual who has advanced the interests of photojournalism. Curtiss joined the faculty at Daemon College in 2012.

Curtiss is a graduate of Central Michigan University, where she majored in journalism. She holds a master’s degree in executive leadership and change from Daemon College.

20160218_TCB1879Renee Laegreid, a professor of history at the University of Wyoming, has been selected to receive the Western Heritage Award from the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. Professor Laegreid is being honored for her scholarly article “Finding the West in Twentieth-Century Italy,” which was published in the Western Historical Quarterly. She will be honored at a ceremony in Oklahoma City in April.

Professor Laegreid is the author of Riding Pretty: Rodeo Royalty in the West (University of Nebraska Press, 2006) and the co-editor of Women on the North American Plains (Texas Tech University Press, 2011).

elaine-martinElaine Martin, director of library services and associate professor of family medicine and community health at the University of Massachusetts Medical School in Worcester, has been selected to receive the 2016 T. Mark Hodges International Service Award from the Medical Library Association. She is being honored for her efforts to help restore the library at the A.M. Dogliotti Medical College in Monrovia, Liberia.

Dr. Martin is a graduate of Boston University. She holds a master’s degree in English from the University of Chicago, a master of library and information sciences degree from the Catholic University of American in Washington, D.C., and a doctorate in library administration from Simmons College in Boston.

hhKayHerma Hill Kay, a professor at the law school of the University of California, Berkeley for more than a half century, received the Triennial Award for Lifetime Service to Legal Education from the Association of American Law Schools. Professor Kay joined the faculty at the law school in 1960 and later served as dean.

Professor Kay is a graduate of Southern Methodist University in Dallas and the University of Chicago Law School.

suzanne_oparil2Suzanne Oparil, professor of medicine and director of the vascular biology and hypertension program at the University of Alabama Birmingham has been selected to receive the Clinical Excellence Award at the National Physician of the Year Awards in New York City.

Dr. Oparil earned her medical degree at Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons. She is the past president of the American Heart Association, the American Society of Hypertension, and the American Federation for Medical Research.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply