Notable Honors and Awards for Six Women Scholars

kleckner_605Nancy Kleckner, the Herchel Smith Professor of Molecular Biology at Harvard University, received the Thomas Hunt Morgan Medal from the Genetics Society of America for her significant contributions to the study of chromosomes. She has served on the faculty at Harvard since 1977.

Dr. Kleckner is a graduate of Harvard University and holds a Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Julia Bryan_ppJulia Bryan, associate professor of counselor education at Pennsylvania State University, has been chosen to receive the 2016 Extended Research Award from the American Counseling Association. She will be honored at the association’s annual conference in Montreal this April.

Dr. Bryan is a native of Barbados and a graduate of the University of the West Indies. She earned a master’s degree at the University of Southern Mississippi and a Ph.D. in counseling and counselor education from the University of Maryland, College Park.

kchezumKelly Chezum, vice president for external relations at Clarkson University in Potsdam, New York, received the Education Pioneer Award at the second annual Women’s Entrepreneurship Day at the United Nations in New York City. She was honored for her efforts to promote entrepreneurship and business opportunities for women.

Dr. Chezum is a graduate of Carroll University in Waukesha, Wisconsin. She holds an MBA from Clarkson University and a Ph.D. in law and policy from Northeastern University in Boston.

Minow_Martha_CentennialVisitor2011Martha Minow, dean of Harvard Law School, was awarded the Joseph B. and Toby Gittler Prize presented by Brandeis University for “outstanding and lasting scholarly contributions to racial, ethnic, and/or religious relations. The prize includes a medal and $25,000. Professor Minow is the author of several books including In Brown’s Wake: Legacies of America’s Constitutional Landmark (Oxford University Press, 2010).

Professor Minow is a graduate of the University of Michigan and Yale Law School. She also holds a master’s degree in education from Harvard University.

mendendeuerSusanne Menden-Deuer, an associate professor in the Graduate School of Oceanography at the University of Rhode Island, has been selected to receive the Hutner Prize from the International Society of Protistologists. She will be honored this summer in Moscow, Russia.

Dr. Menden-Deuer, an expert on plankton, is a graduate of the University of Bonn in Germany. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in oceanography from the University of Washington.

cait-lamberton-full-size-image_0Cait Lamberton, an associate professor of business administration at the Katz Graduate School of Business at the University of Pittsburgh, received the 2016 Erin Anderson Award from the American Marketing Association Foundation. She is the co-editor of The Cambridge Handbook of Consumer Psychology (Cambridge University Press, 2015).

Dr. Lamberton is a graduate of Wheaton College, where she majored in English literature. She holds an MBA and a Ph.D. in marketing from the University of South Carolina.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply