Eight Women Faculty Members Appointed to New Posts

michelsonKelly Michelson was named the Julia and David Uihlein Professor of Bioethnics at the Feinberg School of Medicine of Northwestern University in Chicago. She has been serving as an associate professor of pediatric critical care.

Dr. Michelson holds a medical degree and a master of public health degree from Duke University in Durham, North Carolina. She completed her residency at the University of Chicago.

kemberley-washingtonKemberly Washington was named to the Eben Hardie Jr. Finance Endowed Professorship at Dillard University in New Orleans. She joined the faculty at Dillard University in 2006. Earlier, Washington was a criminal investigator for the Internal Revenue Service.

A certified public accountant, Washington holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Southern University in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. She is a doctoral candidate at Texas Tech University in Lubbock.

Kirsten-Bibbins-Domingo2Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, who holds the Lee Goldman, MD, Endowed Chair in Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco, was elected to a one-year term as chair of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force.  The task force, established in 1984, is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine. Dr. Bibbins-Domingo’s research is focused on the epidemiology of cardiovascular disease.

Dr. Bibbins-Domingo is a graduate of Princeton University in New Jersey, where she majored in biology. She holds a medical degree, a master’s degree in epidemiology and biostatistics, and a Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of California, San Francisco.

lisa_bloomLisa Bloom was named the Jay M. Robinson Distinguished Professor in Educational Technologies at Western Carolina University in Cullowhee, North Carolina. She had been serving as a professor in the School of Teaching and Learning at the university.

Dr. Bloom has been a member of the faculty at Western Carolina University since 1989. She is a graduate of Indiana University of Pennsylvania and holds a master’s degree in behavioral disorders and a doctorate in special education from West Virginia University.

Rao_JiajiaJiajia Rao is a new assistant professor in the cereal and food sciences program at North Dakota State University in Fargo. She has been serving as a senior scientist at Pepsico Inc.

Dr. Rao is a graduate of Sichuan University of Science and Technology in China and holds a master’s degree from Chongqing University in China. She earned a Ph.D. in food science at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst.

Hess_TraciTraci J. Hess was appointed the inaugural Douglas and Diana Berthiaume Endowed Professor at the Isenberg School of Management at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst. She joined the faculty at the university in 2010 after teaching at Washington State University. Her research focuses on human-computer interaction.

Professor Hess is a graduate of the University of Virginia, where she majored in accounting. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in information systems from Virginia Tech.

parry-giles_0Shawn J. Parry-Giles was named chair of the department of communications at the University of Maryland-College Park. She also serves as director of the university’s Center for Political Communication and Civic Leadership. Professor Parry-Giles is the author of several books including Hillary Clinton in the News: Gender and Authenticity in American Politics (University of Illinois Press, 2014).

Professor Parry-Giles is a graduate of Emporia State University in Kansas. She holds a master’s degree from the University of New Mexico and a Ph.D. in speech communication from Indiana University.

corrieBROWNCorrie Brown, the Meigs Professor of Pathology in the College of Veterinary Medicine, was named a University Professor at the University of Georgia. Professor Brown has served on the faculty at the University of Georgia for 20 years.

Professor Brown earned her doctorate in veterinary medicine at the University of Guelph in Canada. She holds a Ph.D. in comparative pathology from the University of California, Davis.

Filed Under: AppointmentsFaculty


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply