Women Faculty Members Who Have Earned Notable Honors and Awards

MaryEHattenMary Beth Hatten, the Frederick P. Rose Professor in the Laboratory of Developmental Neurobiology at Rockefeller University in New York City received the 2015 Max Cowan Award from the Cajal Club and the Journal of Comparative Neurology. The award is given every two years to recognize outstanding achievement in developmental neuroscience.

Professor Hatten is a graduate of Hollins University in Roanoke, Virginia, where she majored in chemistry. She earned a Ph.D. in biochemical sciences from Princeton University.

DianeKelloggDiane Kellogg, an associate professor of management at Bentley University in Waltham, Massachusetts, is the inaugural recipient of the Friend of Africa Award  from the African Union/Diaspora African Forum. The award was presented at the annual African Women of Excellence Awards Gala in New York City. Dr. Kellogg is the founder of the Ghana Project that uses a business model to address social issues in Africa.

Dr. Kellogg is a graduate of Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah. She holds a master’s degree and an educational doctorate from Harvard University.

Mamary-alice-Brucery Alice Bruce, professor of counselor education and chair of the department of professional studies at the University of Wyoming, received the Legacy Award from the Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (ACES). The award honors individuals who “have made a significant and lasting impression on ACES or on the counselor education and supervision professions.”

Dr. Bruce is a graduate of Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana. She earned a master’s degree and a Ph.D. at Iowa State University.

GraleyLisa Graley, an assistant professor of English and the humanities at the University of Louisiana-Lafayette, has won the 2015 Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction from the University of Georgia Press. As a result, Dr. Graley collection of short stories entitled The Current That Carries will be published next fall by the University of Georgia Press.

Dr. Graley, who holds a Ph.D. from the University of Louisiana-Lafayette, is the author of the poetry collection Box of Blue Horses (Gival Press, 2013) which was nominated for the National Book Award.

UlysseGina Athena Ulysse, a professor of anthropology at Wesleyan University in Middletown, Connecticut, received the Excellence in Scholarship award from the Haitian Studies Association. Professor Ulysse is the author of Downtown Ladies: Informal Commercial Importers, A Haitian Anthropologist and Self-Making in Jamaica (University of Chicgo Press, 2008) and Why Haiti Needs New Narratives: A Post-Quake Chronicle (Wesleyan University Press, 2015).

Dr. Ulysse is a graduate of Upsala College in New Jersey, which has now closed. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. from the University of Michigan.

virginia_howardVirginia Howard, a professor of epidemiology in the School of Public Health at the University of Alabama Birmingham, received the 2015 National Forum Commitment Award from the National Forum for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention.

Dr. Howard holds a master’s degree in biostatistics from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a Ph.D. in epidemiology from the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston.

Filed Under: Awards


RSSComments (0)

Leave a Reply